Wilco Detail Box Set, Best-Of Collection and Chicago Residency

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 10.14.14 in News

Lots of news on the Wilco front today, beginning with a massive box set of rarities and live recordings that feature such fellow NPR favorites as Fleet Foxes, Andrew Bird and Feist. Due out November 17, Alpha Mike Foxtrot is joined by a career-spanning compilation (What’s Your 20) that was also produced by Grammy nominee Cheryl Pawelski.

“Like a lot of fans, I had collected these straggling tracks over the past two decades of following Wilco’s every move,” Pawelski said in a press release. “Alpha Mike Foxtrot includes almost every unique, essential performance that appeared on soundtracks, tribute albums and B-sides — and there are probably a few surprises for even the sharpest collector. This set presents an alternate history of the band, kind of a sideways view, and ultimately, it’s a super-fun listening experience.”

Fans who can’t wait another month for all that Wilco action can pre-order their copies here and receive an instant download of “A Magazine Called Sunset,” which frontman Jeff Tweedy refers to as “a mysterious omission from an official recorded output and a real attempt at complete pop music.”

As for Wilco’s upcoming tour plans, they just added a “Winterlude 2014″ residency back home in Chicago, starting on December 5th and winding down on the 12th at the Riviera Theatre. Check out a complete rundown below.

Wilco tour dates:
10/21 Nashville, TN – Ryman Auditorium
10/22 Nashville, TN – Ryman Auditorium
10/23 Knoxville, TN – Tennessee Theatre
10/25 Raleigh, NC – North Carolina Museum of Art
10/28 Port Chester, NY – Capitol Theatre
10/29 Port Chester, NY – Capitol Theatre
10/30 Post Chester, NY – Capitol Theatre
12/3 Milwaukee, WI – The Riverside Theater
12/5 Chicago, IL – Riviera Theatre
12/6 Chicago, IL – Riviera Theatre
12/8 Chicago, IL – Riviera Theatre
12/9 Chicago, IL – Riviera Theatre
12/11 Chicago, IL – Riviera Theatre
12/12 Chicago, IL – Riviera Theatre

'Alpha Mike Foxtrot' cover art

Alpha Mike Foxtrot: Rare Tracks 1994-2014:
Disc One:
1. Childlike and Evergreen (Demo)
2. Someone Else’s Song (Demo)
3. Passenger Side (Demo)
4. Promising
5. The T.B. is Whipping Me – with Syd Straw
6. I Must Be High (Live)
7. Casino Queen (Live)
8. Who Were You Thinking Of (Live)
9. I Am Not Willing
10. Burned
11. Blasting Fonda
12. Thirteen
13. Don’t You Honey Me
14. The Lonely 1 (White Hen version)
15. No More Poetry
16. Box Full of Letters (Live)
17. Red-Eyed and Blue (Live)
18. Forget the Flowers (Live)
19. Sunken Treasure (Live)
20. Monday (Demo)

Disc Two:
1. Passenger Side (Live)
2. Outtasite (Outta Mind) (Live)
3. I Got You (At the End of the Century) (Live)
4. Outta Mind (Outta Site) (Live)
5. James Alley Blues – with Roger McGuinn (Live)
6. At My Window Sad and Lonely (Jeff Tweedy solo)
7. California Stars (Live)
8. One Hundred Years From Now
9. A Shot in the Arm (Remix)
10. ELT (King Size demo)
11. Nothing’severgonnastandinmyway (again) (Dave Kahne Remix)
12. She’s a Jar (Austin demo)
13. Tried and True
14. Student Loan Stereo
15. True Love Will Find You in the End
16. I’m Always in Love (Solo acoustic live)
17. Via Chicago (Austin Demo)
18. Can’t Stand It (Live)
19. Airline to Heaven (Alternate)
20. Any Major Dude Will Tell You

Disc Three:
1. I’m the Man Who Loves You (Live)
2. The Good Part
3. Cars Can’t Escape
4. Camera
5. Handshake Drugs (First version)
6. A Magazine Called Sunset
7. Bob Dylan’s 49th Beard
8. Woodgrain
9. More Like the Moon
10. Let Me Come Home
11. Old Maid
12. Hummingbird (Alternate)
13. Spiders (Kidsmoke) (Live)
14. Hell is Chrome (Live)
15. At Least That’s What You Said (Live)
16. The Late Greats (Live)
17. Just a Kid – with The Blisters
18. Kicking Television

Disc Four:
1. Panthers
2. Theologians (Live)
3. Another Man’s Done Gone (Live)
4. I’m a Wheel (Live)
5. How to Fight Loneliness (Live)
6. One True Vine
7. The Thanks I Get
8. Let’s Not Get Carried Away
9. Hate it Here (Live)
10. Impossible Germany (Live)
11. I Shall Be Released – with Fleet Foxes (Live)
12. What Light (Live)
13. Jesus, Etc. – with Andrew Bird (Live)
14. Glad It’s Over
15. Dark Neon
16. The Jolly Banker
17. Unlikely Japan
18. You and I – with Feist (Live)
19. I Love my Label

'What's Your 20?' album cover

What’s Your 20: Essential Tracks:
Disc One:
1. I Must Be High
2. Box Full of Letters
3. Passenger Side
4. Casino Queen
5. Misunderstood
6. Red-Eyed and Blue
7. I Got You (At the End of the Century)
8. Monday
9. Outtasite (Outta Mind)
10. Sunken Treasure
11. California Stars
12. Hesitating Beauty
13. A Shot in the Arm
14. Can’t Stand It
15. She’s a Jar
16. I’m Always in Love
17. How to Fight Loneliness
18. Via Chicago
19. Airline to Heaven

Disc Two:
1. I Am Trying to Break Your Heart
2. I’m the Man Who Loves You
3. War on War
4. Jesus, Etc.
5. Ashes of American Flags
6. Heavy Metal Drummer
7. Hummingbird
8. Theologians
9. Handshake Drugs
10. The Late Greats
11. Hate it Here
12. Impossible Germany
13. Walken
14. Wilco (the Song)
15. You and I
16. You Never Know
17. I Might
18. Born Alone
19. Whole Love