Video Premiere: Cass McCombs, “Angel Blood”

Wondering Sound Staff

By Wondering Sound Staff

on 10.31.14 in News

The video for Cass McCombs’s “Angel Blood” is charmingly lo-fi: split-screen videos — that appear to have been recorded on an old camcorder — play out over a backdrop that looks like an early ’90s screensaver. It’s a sharp contrast to the song, which is warm and rich and lovely, but it works to remarkable effect. While the song is beautiful and ornate — McComb’s tenor weaving between weeping lap steel and slow-rolling acoustic guitars — the video is ragged and earthy. The combination of the two clashing aesthetics makes for a final product that’s wholly charming. McCombs recently recorded a split 7″ with alt-rock giants the Meat Puppets, with whom he’s touring. You can hear it here.

Cass McCombs on Tour With the Meat Puppets
Fri. Oct. 31 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Sat. Nov. 1 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Sun. Nov 2 – Washington, DC @ The Black Cat
Tue. Nov. 4 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506
Wed. Nov. 5 – Atlanta, GA @ Vinyl
Fri. Nov. 7 – Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s Downstairs
Sat. Nov. 8 – Cass McCombs @ Fun Fun Fun NITES
Fri. Nov. 28 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom
Sat. Nov. 29 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah
Tue. Dec. 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Wed. Dec. 3 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Fri. Dec. 5 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Sat. Dec. 6 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge