Vashti Bunyan Reunites With Devendra Banhart, Vetiver on New Record

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 07.02.14 in News

Vashti Bunyan has shared more details about Heartleap, her first new album in nearly a decade and reportedly her last. Due out October 7, the self-produced effort features guest vocals from Devendra Banhart and Vetiver frontman Andy Cabic on the song “Holy Smoke,” but is much more of a solo endeavor than Bunyan’s last LP, 2005′s Lookaftering.

“[I] wanted it to be more akin to my very first recordings, pre- [Just Another] Diamond Day,” Bunyan explained in a press release, referring to her debut record, which was originally released in 1970 and reissued for her growing cult following in 2000. “I wanted to see what I could do without using the ideas of others. It would have been much easier had I recorded it with an engineer – I would not have had to spend so much time on editing – but that’s been the interesting part. If I’d taken these songs and gone into a studio with them they might have turned out very differently, perhaps more ‘produced’ – but not as near to how I hear them for myself.”

Since Bunyan can’t play the piano, she embraced synthetic elements over the seven-year course of the Heartleap sessions, something she avoided on Lookaftering.

“I neither read nor write music,” she said, “nor can I play piano with more than one hand at a time, but I have loved being able to work it all out for myself and make it sound the way I wanted. I’ve built these songs over years. The album wouldn’t have happened any other way … I can’t ‘play’ a musician playing their instrument – I can’t make them play each note as I want it, but with a keyboard and a music program I am the player.”

Check out the record’s cover art and complete tracklisting below…

'Heartleap' album art

Vashti Bunyan, Heartleap (DiCristina, October 7):
1. Across The Water
2. Holy Smoke
3. Mother
4. Jellyfish
5. Shell
6. The Boy
7. Gunpowder
8. Blue Shed
9. Here
10. Heartleap