The Vaselines Tap Members of Belle & Sebastian, Teenage Fanclub and More For New Album

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 06.16.14 in News

After breaking their 20-year silence with 2010′s Sex With an X, The Vaselines are already back with another new album. Due out September 29 through Rosary Music (via Pitchfork), V For Vaselines was self-produced by the Glasgow duo at Mogwai’s Castle of Doom studio, with guest spots by such fellow Scots as Stevie Jackson (Belle & Sebastian), Frank Macdonald (Teenage Fanclub), Michael McGaughrin (1990s), Graeme Smillie (Olympic Swimmers), Paul Foley (Mandrake Shepherd) and Scott Paterson (Sons & Daughters).

While they’re best known for punchy indie pop songs like “Son of a Gun” and “Molly’s Lips” — both of which were covered by Nirvana and heavily praised by Kurt Cobain — guitarist/singer Eugene Kelly says he was driven to “write some really short punk rock songs” this time around … “just get into people’s ear really straight away, and then get out of there really quickly.”

Here’s what that actually sounds like, along with the album’s cover art and complete tracklisting…

'V For Vaselines' album art

The Vaselines, V For Vaselines (Rosary Music, September 29):
1. High Tide Low Tide
2. The Lonely L.P.
3. Inky Lies
4. Crazy Lady
5. Single Spies
6. One Lost Year
7. Earth Is Speeding
8. False Heaven
9. Number One Crush
10. Last Half Hour