Ty Segall Band Rip Up “What’s Inside Your Heart” Ahead of Live LP

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 11.12.14 in News

Ty Segall is back to his famously prolific ways — if you can be “prolific” in releasing old material. After taking about a year to release this summer’s Manipulator, the San Francisco garage-rock force of nature recently announced a new singles compilation, $INGLE$ 2, on November 18 via Drag City. And now, as Pitchfork reports, his Ty Segall Band will release Live in San Francisco on January 26 as part via Castle Face Records.

Ty Segall Band, which joins Segall with Mikal Cronin, Emily Rose Epstein, and Charles Moothart, recorded the live album at the Rickshaw Stop venue in San Francisco, where the band played in February. They’ve shared Live in San Francisco‘s thrashing, feverish take on “What’s Inside Your Heart,” which originally appeared on 2012′s Slaughterhouse as “Tell Me What’s Inside Your Heart.” Previous entries in Castle Face’s Live in San Francisco series have come from White FenceOBN III’s and Segall’s other band with Moothart, Fuzz.

You can listen to the live “What’s Inside Your Heart” at Pitchfork and the studio version below, and scroll down for the Live in San Francisco tracklist. Be sure to read our contributor Paul Meija’s Castle Face Records label profile.

Live in San Francisco (January 26, Castle Face)

1. Wave Goodbye
2. Slaughterhouse
3. Death
4. I Bought My Eyes
5. Feel
6. The Hill
7. Thank God for the Sinners
8. Skin
9. Standing at the Station
10. What’s Inside Your Heart