T Bone Burnett Taps Elvis Costello, Jim James and More For ‘Basement Tapes’ Project

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 08.19.14 in News

News of official Bob Dylan bootlegs are one thing; producer T Bone Burnett (True Detective, Inside Llewyn Davis) went one step further recently, asking Elvis Costello and members of Dawes, My Morning Jacket, Mumford & Sons and Carolina Chocolate Drops to cut original music on top of lyrics Dylan originally wrote during his Basement Tapes period. The recently discovered handwritten pages date back to 1967, and will be immortalized in a 20-song set called Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes. Due out November 11 through Electromagnetic Recordings/Harvest Records, the album was made over the course of a couple weeks at Capitol Studios — a process Showtime will document on November 21 with Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued, a film directed by Sam Jones of the infamous Wilco documentary I Am Trying to Break Your Heart.

“What transpired during those two weeks was amazing for all of us,” Burnett said in a press release. “There was a deep well of generosity and support in the studio at all times, which reflected the tremendous trust and generosity shown by Bob in sharing these lyrics with us in the first place.”

Check out the lead single from the sessions down below, along with cover art, a tracklisting, and two of the standout tracks from the Emmy-nominated True Detective series Burnett was the music supervisor for…

'Lost on the River' album cover

Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes:
1. Down on the Bottom
2. Married to My Hack
3. Kansas City
4. Spanish Mary
5. Liberty Street
6. Nothing to It
7. Golden Tom – Silver Judas
8. When I Get My Hands on You
9. Duncan and Jimmy
10. Florida Key
11. Hidee Hidee Ho #11
12. Lost On The River #12
13. Stranger
14. Card Shark
15. Quick Like A Flash
16. Hidee Hidee Ho #16
17. Diamond Ring
18. The Whistle Is Blowing
19. Six Months in Kansas City (Liberty Street)
20. Lost on the River #20