Sun Kil Moon to Release ‘Universal Themes’ in June

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 02.19.15 in News

The War on Drugs had better double-check their summer festival billings. Mark Kozelek, who traded jabs with the Philly band after hearing their “beer commercial lead-guitar shit” from another stage during last year’s Ottawa Folk Fest, is on the way with a new Sun Kil Moon album. Universal Themes will be available on June 2 via Caldo Verde Records. The follow-up to Benji (one of our 100 Best Albums of 2014) was recorded in San Francisco and New Jersey and features percussion from Sonic Youth’s Steve Shelley, who also drummed on Benji. Though initially for sale only on CD or as a digital download, Universal Themes is scheduled to arrive on vinyl later in the year.

Scroll down for the cover art and tracklist, which includes previously shared, Godflesh-lauding opus “The Possum,” streaming below.

Read Jayson Greene’s Sun Kil Moon interview for Wondering Sound.

Sun Kil Moon, 'Universal Themes' cover art

Universal Themes (June 2, Caldo Verde Records)

1. The Possum
2.Birds of Flims
3. With a Sort of Grace I Walked to the Bathroom to Cry
4. Garden of Lavender
5. Cry Me a River Williamsburg Sleeve Tattoo Blues
6. Ali/Spinks 2
7. Little Rascals
8. This Is My First Day and I’m Indian and I Work at a Gas Station