Styrofoam Drone’s Friday Find: Eastlink

Zac Camanga

By Zac Camanga

on 05.16.14 in News

In the Red Records is gearing up for their summer season with a slew of new records, one of which is the new LP from Australian psych-punks Eastlink, which oozes with 9 staggering psychedelic blow-outs. The band includes members from Total Control, UV Race, Repairs, Lakes and Straightjacket Nation, which should give you an idea what to expect.

The tracks on the album unfold as obnoxiously as possible, with an emphasis on repetition. The band features four different guitar players, which adds an extra force to every last hook. Frontman Johann Rashid shrieks and carries on like a madman, bashing around between crusty guitars.

They lay the volume on heavy in “Overtime,” a song built around a ravaging guitar hook, drenched in fuzz and relentless snarling. Throughout, they manage a sound that’s detail-heavy but straightforward in its crudeness.