Stuart Murdoch’s Film Debut Gets Proper Release, Soundtrack

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 07.15.14 in News

As we continue to await official word of the Belle and Sebastian album the band was recording in Atlanta this past spring, frontman Stuart Murdoch has finalized the details around his long-planned God Help the Girl film. While the musical will receive a widespread on-demand/theater release on September 5 in the U.S. and August 16 in the UK, its soundtrack will hit shops on September 2 and August 18 via the LA label Milan Records. According to Murdoch, “it’s got dialogue, [the] score, new songs no one’s yet heard and of course some GHTG songs in new versions with new singers and players and sounds. It’s a version of the film in miniature, and personally, while thoroughly biased, I think I’d like the record even if I never saw the film because I get to imagine the visuals myself.”

Check out a complete rundown — gotta love those song titles! — below, along with a film teaser and a streaming version of the title track…


God Help the Girl: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack:
1. I Suppose That Was A Prayer
2. Act of the Apostle
3. I Dumped You First
4. Pretty When the Wind Blows
5. I Know I Have to Eat
6. God Help the Girl
7. The Psychiatrist Is In
8. The God of Music
9. If You Could Speak
10. The Catwalk of the Dukes
11. Perfection As a Hipster
12. Fuck This Shit
13. Pretty Eve in the Tub
14. A Loving Kind of Boy
15. What Do You Want This Band to Sound Like
16. Come Monday Night
17. Collective Idiocy
18. I’m Not Rich
19. I’ll Have to Dance With Cassie
20. Stalinist Russia
21. Baby’s Just Waiting
22. Partick Whistle
23. Musician Please Take Heed
24. I Just Want Your Jeans
25. Invisible
26. The World’s Last Cassette
27. Down and Dusky Blonde
28. Dress Up In You