Stream Atticus Ross and Trent Reznor’s Score for ‘Gone Girl’

Lindsay Hood

By Lindsay Hood

on 09.25.14 in News

There’s only about a week to go before David Fincher’s highly anticipated film Gone Girl hits the big screen on October 3. Gillian Flynn’s novel topped The New York Times Best Seller List for eight weeks and its screen adaptation will star Ben Affleck, Rosamund Pike, Neil Patrick Harris, and Tyler Perry. Unsurprisingly, Fincher tapped his favorite collaborative duo to score the movie. Thus, Trent Reznor and Atticus Finch have been hard at work for the last seven months composing a synth-filled background to set the mood for Affleck’s range of emotion.

Today, you can catch a first listen of the entire score; it’s streaming over at NPR.

Gone Girl marks the third film collaboration between Ross, Reznor, and Fincher and the co-composers definitely have a reputation to live up to when it comes to their past scoring efforts. Ross and Reznor won the Academy Award for Best Original Score in 2011 for their contributions to Fincher’s The Social Network. Then in 2013, the pair also got a Golden Globe nomination for Best Original Score Motion Picture and eventually took home a Grammy for Best Score Soundtrack for their work on The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

In an interview with The Wall Street Journal earlier this month, Fincher told the duo to focus on the type of music that you would first hear when entering a spa. The director said, “I was listening to that calming, placating music and thought, we need to tap into this. The movie is about the facade of the good neighbor, the good Christian, the good wife. So the notion was to start with music that’s attempting to give you a hug.”

This direction is very apparent in tracks such as “Sugar Storm” and “Just Like You,” the movie’s darker undertones seeping in around the calmness, with the creepiness coming to a full hilt on the piano-laced “Secrets.”

Check out the full track listing for Gone Girl’s soundtrack below:

1. What Have We Done To Each Other?
2. Sugar Storm
3. Empty Places
4. With Suspicion
5. Just Like You
6. Appearances
7. Clue One
8. Clue Two
9. Background Noise
10. Procedural
11. Something Disposable
12. Like Home
13. Empty Places (Reprise)
14. The Way He Looks At Me
15. Technically, Missing
16. Secrets
17. Perpetual
18. Strange Activities
19. Still Gone
20. A Reflection
21. Consummation
22. Sugar Storm (Reprise)
23. What Will We Do?
24. At Risk