Röyksopp Share a Couple More Songs From Their Final Album

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 10.10.14 in News

“It was quite a surreal experience,” says Man Without Country singer Ryan James of his new Röyksopp collaboration, “You Know I Have To Go.” He continued, “I’d only spoken to Torbøjrn [Brundtland] once via Skype prior to recording and I hadn’t heard any of the music they wanted me to sing on. I felt slightly out of my depth at first. I felt privileged to be asked to collaborate with Röyksopp, and to be invited into their unique musical world.”

As for the duo’s take on the track, they wrote the following alongside the streaming player on their site: “The attraction and the doubt; the dilemma as whether to succumb to one’s feelings or not. The sheer length of the track is meant to illustrate the prolonging internal struggle between reason and lust.”

And if that’s not enough of a reminder of just how dark Röyksopp’s final record is, they’ve also shared a song called “Sordid Affair.” Slightly more upbeat yet no less sad, it’s available below alongside the other Inevitable End selections that we shared a few weeks back: