Red Hot Reveal Arthur Russell Tribute, Featuring Robyn, Hot Chip and More

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 07.15.14 in News

Nearly two years after Pitchfork and the Red Hot Organization failed to reach their Kickstarter goal for an Arthur Russell tribute the latter has announced its release under a new name and label. Due out October 21 through Yep Roc, Master Mix features a strong cast of contributors — everyone from Robyn to Hot Chip to an interlude-providing Lonnie Holley — despite losing some key artists from its initial track list, including Twin Shadow, Washed Out and Laurel Halo.

“It felt somewhat taboo to be messing with such sacrosanct materials,” Devendra Banhart said in a press release. “We recorded [“Losing My Taste For The Night Life”] as our way of saying to everyone, ‘Listen to Arthur!’”

“Arthur’s music is all over the place,” Sufjan Stevens (who covered “A Little Lost”) added, “but most of it seems to be about embracing darkness (loneliness) and ambiguity (confusion) with the biggest bear hug in the world. Catharsis! He didn’t give a shit about fads or fashion even as he was influenced by popular music, club music, and all that shitty art music at the Kitchen. He kind of cobbled it all together to create his own diverse musical language, He was funny as shit (a wordsmith, a master of the innuendo), but also dead serious (and blunt) about the deepness of his feelings, unafraid to express affection in his songs, without pandering or cliche. Arthur was real as shit. You can’t fake realness.”

Here’s the project’s complete tracklisting, along with a trailer featuring Hot Chip…

Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell:
1. Jose Gonzalez: “This Is How We Walk On The Moon”
2. Lonnie Holley: “Soon-To-Be Innocent Fun (Interlude)”
3. Robyn: “Tell You”
4. Hot Chip: “Go Bang”
5. Sufjan Stevens: “A Little Lost”
6. Lonnie Holley: “In The Light Of The Miracle (Interlude)”
7. Richard Reed Parry, Little Scream, Sam Amidon, Colin Stetson & Sarah Neufeld: “Keeping Up”
8. Liam Finn, Ernie Brooks & Peter Zummo: “This Love Is Crying”
9. Rubblebucket & Nitemoves: “Eli”
10. The Revival Hour: “Hiding Your Present from You”
11. Sam Amidon: “Lucky Cloud”
12. Devendra Banhart: “Losing My Taste For The Night Life”
13. Phosphorescent: “You Can Make Me Feel Bad”
14. Blood Orange: “Is It All Over My Face & Tower Of Meaning”
15. Scissor Sisters: “That’s Us/Wild Combination”
16. VEGA INTL.: “Arm Around You”
17. Oh Mercy: “Planted A Thought”
18. Lonnie Holley: “Hop On Down (Interlude)”
19. Cults: “Being It”
20. Richard Reed Parry: “Just A Blip”
21. Glen Hansard: “I Couldn’t Say It To Your Face”
22. Thao & The Get Down Stay Down: “Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart”
23. The Autumn Defense: “Oh Fernanda Why”
24. Alexis Taylor: “Our Last Night Together”
25. Lonnie Holley: “The Deer In The Forest (Interlude)”
26. Redding Hunter: “Close My Eyes”