Queen-Michael Jackson Duet, Mixed by William Orbit, Debuts

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 09.19.14 in News

Queen‘s Freddie Mercury once headed to Los Angeles to record “There Must Be More to Life Than This” with Michael Jackson in the King of Pop’s home studio. Mercury, who died in 1991, eventually released a solo version of the song on 1985′s Mr. Bad Guy. Now, producer William Orbit (Madonna, Blur) has produced and remixed a duet version, using material from multiple sessions.

The previously teased new track, which appears on the November 11 compilation Queen Forever, is a lighters-aloft power ballad — think “We Are the Champions” if the champ is realizing his victory tastes hollow, with a little more Pachelbel “Canon in D.” The material on Jackson’s own posthumous Xscape could bring to mind the lithe dance-pop of recent albums by the likes of Justin Timberlake (who appeared on it). But “There Must Be to Life Than This” has fewer obvious, current pop corollaries stylistically— maybe fun., especially in light of Jackson’s fragile vocal here? Still, this one combines its creators’ double-punch of familiarity with a lyrical search for substance that has gnawed at the charts in recent years, from Lorde‘s “Royals” to Lecrae‘s “Nuthin,” and even the spate of protest songs that followed 18-year-old Michael Brown‘s shooting death in Ferguson, MIssouri. “People fighting for their human rights / But we just go on saying ‘c’est la vie,’” Mercury booms, right before Jackson arrives like a comforting seraph. Cue operatic shredding — and the two famed vocalists singing together in multiplatinum harmony.

The mastered version debuted on U.K. radio, and you can hear it below. Two other new Queen tracks with Mercury’s vocals also appear on Queen Forever: a ballad rendition of “Love Kills,” a song from Giorgio Moroder‘s 1984 restoration of the 1927 silent film Metropolis, along with “Let Me in Your Heart Again,” a previously unfinished outtake from Queen’s 1984 album The Work. Scroll down for the tracklist.

Queen, Queen Forever

Single CD:

1, Let Me in Your Heart Again
2. Love Kills – The Ballad
3. There Must Be More To Life Than This (William Orbit Mix)
4. It’s A Hard Life
5. You’re My Best Friend
6. Love Of My Life
7. Drowse
8. Long Away
9. Lily Of The Valley
10. Don’t Try So Hard
11. Bijou
12. These Are The Days Of Our Lives
13. Las Palabras De Amor
14. Who Wants To Live Forever
15. A Winter’s Tale
16. Play The Game
17. Save Me
18. Somebody To Love
19. Too Much Love Will Kill You
20. Crazy Little Thing Called Love

Two-CD set


1. Let Me In Your Heart Again
2, Love Kills – The Ballad
3, There Must Be More To Life Than This (William Orbit Mix)
4. Play The Game
5. Dear Friends
6. You’re My Best Friend
7.Love Of My Life
8. Drowse
9. You Take My Breath Away
10. Spread Your Wings
11. Long Away
12. Lily Of The Valley
13. Don’t Try So Hard
14. Bijou
15. These Are The Days Of Our Lives
16. Nevermore
17. Las Palabras De Amor
18. Who Wants To Live Forever


1. I Was Born To Love You
2. Somebody To Love
3. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
4. Friends Will Be Friends
5. Jealousy
6. One Year of Love
A Winters Tale
7. ’39
8. Mother Love
9. It’s A Hard Life
10. Save Me
11. Made in Heaven
12. Too Much Love Will Kill You
13. Sail Away Sweet Sister
14. The Miracle
15. Is This The World We Created
16. In The Lap Of The Gods…Revisited
17. Forever