Purling Hiss Announce New Weirdon Album

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 07.10.14 in News

After turning Purling Hiss into more of a power trio with last year’s Water on Mars LP, frontman Mike Polizze has returned to his solo roots with Weirdon. Due out September 23 through Drag City, the record was reportedly “made with no concept of limitations on what could be performed live. Mike’s new songs open up, going all over the place, while still based in their home-cooked blend of catharsis and shredding, both in the guitar playing and the inner life of the album.”

Judging by the all-too-brief teaser below, the full-length sounds like it could also be one of the band’s catchier efforts, a way of balancing all that feedback with psych-steeped, rock solid hooks…

Purling Hiss - 'Weirdon' album cover

Purling Hiss, Weirdon (Drag City, September 23):
1. Forcefield of Solitude
2. Sundance Saloon Boogie
3. Learning Slowly
4. Another Silvermoon
5. Reptili-a-genda
6. Where’s Sweetboy
7. Aging Faces
8. I Don’t Wanna Be A…
9. Airwaves
10. Running Through My Dreams
11. Six Ways To Sunday