Parquet Courts Preview ‘Live at Third Man Records’ LP

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 01.22.15 in News

Parquet Courts have another accolade to observe with skeptical detachment: The Texas-via-New York indie-rock revisionists just got the Jack White seal of approval. They’ll release Parquet Courts: Live at Third Man Records on March 3 via White’s own Third Man Records label.

The set, at Third Man’s Blue Room in Nashville last June 5, draws mostly from last year’s ferocious Sunbathing Animal (one of our 100 Best Albums of 2014), plus material from 2013′s Tally All the Things That You Broke EP. It’s the group’s first release since last fall’s more homespun, still superb Content Nausea EP, released under the name Parkay Quarts. Pre-orders start in February at

Parquet Courts’ entry in the Live at Third Man Records series follows installments from the likes of White, the Melvins, Willie Nelson, Divine Fits, the Shins, the Kills, the Black Lips, Ted Leo, Mudhoney, King Tuff, Tyvek, Jeff the Brotherhood, Jenny and Johnny, Davila 666, Karen Elson, Pujol and Quintron & Miss Pussycat.

Preview two feverish tracks from the set, “Sunbathing Animal” and “Vienna II,” below, and scroll down for the full tracklist and cover art. Also see Douglas Wolk’s 2012 interview, Who Are…Parquet Courts.

Parquet Courts, 'Live at Third Man Records'

Parquet Courts: Live at Third Man Records (March 3, Third Man Records)

1. Duckin & Dodgin
2. Bodies
3. Black & White
4. Vienna II
5. Always Back In Town
6. Dear Ramona
7. Descend
8. Instant Disassembly
9. Raw Milk
10. Into the Garden
11. Sunbathing Animal