Nicolas Jaar’s Other People Imprint Announces ‘Work’ Compilation

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 08.08.14 in News

Nicolas Jaar has never been one to do things the easy way, whether we’re talking about his own solo material — an ever-mutating experiment best expressed through his extended improv sets — or his defiantly DIY approach to Other People, a label underwritten by a $50 annual (or $5 per month) subscription that delivers new music every Sunday. As Jaar explained to Billboard last year, “In the end we have the same amount of output as a normal label, but we’re spacing it out in order to create a community of people based around this ritual of enjoying something together every Sunday … I like telling stories via my albums and via my mixes and via my live performances, and I don’t see this as any different. It’s the idea of curating a story that spans the entire year.”

Now that Other People’s first year is nearly over, the label has announced a more traditional compilation of exclusive material from artists such as Ancient Astronaut (who’s also remixed by Powell and Jelinek), Soul Keita, Jaar’s other half in DARKSIDE, Dave Harrington, and DARKSIDE itself. Due out September 29, the double LP is prefaced by the following VISUALS single, which — in the interest of this being a family affair — was produced by Jaar and features Harrington on guitar…

Other People's 'Work' compilation

A1. Nicolas Jaar – The President’s Answering Machine
A2. Soul Keita – Freedom
A3. Dave Harrington feat. Tamara – Things Behind The Sun
A4. VISUALS – A Pixel
B1. DARKSIDE – What They Say
B2. Ancient Astronaut vs. Powell – SSCS (Powell’s ‘Lift Off’ Mix)
B3. DARKSIDE – Gone Too Soon
C1. Ancient Astronaut vs. Jelinek – B2 (Jelinek Remix)
C2. Dave Harrington – Form And Affect
D1. Ancient Astronaut vs. Francis Harris & Gabriel Hedrick – B2 (Dub)
D2. Nicolas Jaar – The Boy Who Asked Too Much