New Pink Floyd Album ‘The Endless River’ Headed Your Way in November

Lindsay Hood

By Lindsay Hood

on 09.22.14 in News

It’s shaping up to be quite a year for Pink Floyd. The band celebrated the 20th anniversary of their last album The Division Bell by releasing a lavish box set and sent word around that a new album would soon see the light of day. They originally said that we’d see the new tracks in October, but today we’ve got an official release date. The Endless River — a double LP that’s mostly instrumental — will be out on November 10.

The album will be available on CD and vinyl, and a deluxe box set will also be sold for the true hardcore Pink Floyd fans. It will feature an additional 39 minutes of audio-visual material, including organ recordings from the late Richard Wright dating back to June 1969.

On their website, the group stated:

The Endless River has as its starting point the music that came from the 1993 Division Bell sessions… In 2013 David Gilmour and Nick Mason revisited the music from those sessions and decided that the tracks should be made available as part of the Pink Floyd repertoire. It would be the last time the three of them would be heard together. The band have spent the last year recording and upgrading the music, using the advantages of modern studio technology to create The Endless River.

The Endless River is a tribute to Rick Wright, whose keyboards are at the heart of the Pink Floyd sound. It is a mainly instrumental album with one song, ‘Louder Than Words’, (with new lyrics by Polly Samson [Gilmour's wife]), arranged across four sides and produced by David Gilmour, Phil Manzanera, Youth and
Andy Jackson.

Check out the album art and track list for The Endless River below:

Pink Floyd's 'The Endless River'

1. “Things Left Unsaid”
2. “It’s What We Do”
3. “Ebb And Flow”
4. “Sum”
5. “Skins”
6. “Unsung”
7. “Anisina”
8. “The Lost Art Of Conversation”
9. “On Noodle Street”
10. “Night Light”
11. “Allons-y (1)”
12. “Autumn ’68″
13. “Allons-y (2)”
14. “Talkin’ Hawkin’”
15. “Calling”
16. “Eyes To Pearls”
17. “Surfacing”
18. “Louder Than Words”