Madonna Reunites with Nicki Minaj on Six-Song ‘Rebel Heart’ Album Sampler

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 12.22.14 in News

The first single from Madonna‘s new album, Rebel Heart, wasn’t supposed to premiere until February 14. But the Diplo-produced dance-pop track “Living for Love” is streaming below, along with five other new songs intended for the album. Another of them is “Bitch I’m Madonna,” with a guest verse from Nicki Minaj. The Material Girl has said to consider the drop an early Christmas present; happy early Valentine’s Day, too, I guess.

Madonna released these half-dozen tracks from her follow-up to 2012′s MDNA over the weekend after an album’s worth of demos leaked on Friday. “I would prefer my fans to hear completed versions of some of the songs instead of the incomplete tracks that are circulating,” she said in a statement. Diplo has said he worked on “Bitch I’m Madonna” with London producer Sophie. Others reportedly working on the album include Ariel Rechtshaid and Avicii (probably not Ariel Pink, though).

“I have an overabundance of songs, and actually, the reason I wanted to call the record Rebel Heart was because I felt like it explored two very distinct sides of my personality,” Madonna told Billboard. “The rebellious, renegade side of me, and the romantic side of me. In my mind, it was almost like I wanted to do a two-record set. So you get this chunk of songs, and that chunk of songs. That was my original goal. But then all the demos leaked and I can’t really go down that road anymore, so I put out (the six songs) first and then, I think a few more songs are going to come out during the time of the Grammys.

“Then the rest of the album will just come out together (in March), and they’ll just get my rebellious and romantic side all mixed in together.”

Listen to “Living for Love” below and scroll down to stream the full six-song set. Rebel Heart is scheduled for March 10 on Interscope and is available to pre-order via iTunes.

Madonna, 'Rebel Heart' album cover

1. Living for Love
2. Devil Pray
3. Ghosttown
4. Unapologetic Bitch
5. Illuminati
6. Bitch I’m Madonna (feat. Nicki Minaj)