M83 to Reissue Vital Early Albums, Plus Remixes and B-Sides

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 07.22.14 in News

Long before Anthony Gonzalez was scoring Tom Cruise spaceship movies, his M83 project was making music capable of evoking spaceship cruises. The 2011 album Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming, produced and written with Beck/Nine Inch Nails bassist Justin Meldal-Johnsen, was where the French electro-pop outfit really went widescreen, but M83 had already been releasing critically acclaimed records for a decade at that point. Now, Mute is reissuing M83′s first three albums, which at their best merged electronic dance music’s sense of forward motion and shoegaze’s distortion-rumbling ecstasy in a way that’s gorgeous in its own right.

The reissued albums, which have been out of print for several years, will be accompanied by two digital EPs collecting remixes and B-sides from the full-lengths. The reissues of 2001′s M83, 2004′s Dead Cities, Red Seas & Lost Ghosts and 2005′s Before the Dawn Heals Us will be available August 25 in CD, vinyl and digital-download formats. The digital-only Dead Cities, Red Seas & Lost Ghosts Remixes and B-Sides (notably featuring a Cyann & Ben remix of “In Church”) and Before the Dawn Heals Us Remixes and B-Sides (including Superpitcher‘s “Don’t Save Us From the Flames” remix) will follow on September 9.

After those first three albums, M83 went in more of an ’80s new-wave direction on 2008′s Saturdays = Youth, which happily doesn’t require a re-release just yet. Since Hurry Up, when not working on the soundtrack for the Cruise-starring film Oblivion, Gonzalez has also scored the movie You and the Night, directed by his brother Yann Gonzalez. “I make the music I want to, and I take my time,” M83′s Gonzalez told Wondering Sound’s editor-in-chief in 2011. Hear, hear.

Listen to Superpitcher’s “Don’t Save Us From the Flames” remix below, and scroll down for the EP tracklists.

M83, Dead Cities, Red Seas & Lost Ghosts Remixes & B-Sides (September 9; Mute)

1. Dead Cities, Red Seas & Lost Ghosts
2. Tsubasa
3. God of Thunder
4. Gone (Live)
5. In Church (Cyann & Ben Version)
6. Run Into Flowers (Abstrackt Keal Agram Remix)
7. Run Into Flowers (Midnight Fuck Remix by Jackson)
8. Run Into Flowers (IG FarbenVorschlang Remix by KG)

M83, Before the Dawn Heals Us Remixes & B-Sides (September 9; Mute)

1. Addicted to Self Mutilation
2. Until The Night Is Over
3. Teen Angst (Montag Remix)
4. Don’t Save Us From The Flames (Boom Bip Remix)
5. Don’t Save Us From The Flames (Superpitcher Remix)