Kindness (feat. Kelela and Ade), “World Restart”

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 08.11.14 in Listen to This

Adam Bainbridge doesn’t quite have the name recognition of James Murphy, but the British singer’s 2012 debut album as KindnessWorld, You Need a Change of Mind, was a wholly committed, painstakingly constructed interchange between dance music history and contemporary indie rock. If LCD Soundsystem taught the indie kids to dance again, here the Trouble Funk-sampling “That’s Alright” or disco-fied Replacements cover “Swingin’ Party” were meeting a world almost ready for them — one where, later this year, Red Hot Organization will release its long-in-the-works Arthur Russell covers compilation led off by Sufjan Stevens.

The brassy “World Restart,” the first track from Kindness’ upcoming album Otherness — which, as Pitchfork reports, is due out October 13 via Female Energy; pre-order from iTunes — settles into more of an ’80s R&B strut. Ascendant Los Angeles singer Kelela and former Amy Winehouse backing vocalist Ade Omotayo trade flowing vibratos over meticulous percussion and loping bass grooves, as the lyrics liken their encounter to, well, a whole new world. It sounds like a fantastical one.

Kelela also features elsewhere on the album; so do Robyn and Blood Orange‘s Devonté Hynes, among others. Scroll down for “World Restart” and see below for the tracklist and an album trailer.

Kindness, Otherness (October 13; Female Energy)

1. World Restart (feat Kelela & Ade)
2. This Is Not About Us
3. I’ll Be Back
4. Who Do You Love? (feat. Robyn)
5. 8th Wonder (feat. M.anifest)
6. With You (feat. Kelela)
7. Geneva
8. For The Young
9. Why Don’t You Love Me (feat. Devonté Hynes & Tawiah)
10. It’ll Be OK