Limited ‘Grand Theft Auto V’ Box Sets Due Out December 9

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 11.03.14 in News

Rockstar Games revealed a key record release timed to the rollout of its expanded Grand Theft Auto V reissue today: long overdue physical pressings of the game’s acclaimed soundtrack, featuring the music of Flying Lotus, Twin Shadow, Tyler, the Creator and more alongside an original score by Tangerine Dream, Woody Jackson and The Alchemist + Oh No (a.k.a. Gangrene), as mixed by DJ Shadow. Got all that? Good.

“For me, this is the most exciting soundtrack we’ve done,” soundtrack supervisor Ivan Pavlovich told Rolling Stone last year, “in terms of who’s hosting and the music on the actual radio stations. This is our biggest accomplishment.”

The Music of Grand Theft Auto V is due out December 9 through Mass Appeal and limited to just 5,000 copies per format. While the vinyl version spreads 59 songs across six colored vinyl records and includes an exclusive lithograph poster, the CD edition includes three discs and a gold brick-shaped USB drive in a special die-cut package.

As for how this all ties back into the game’s reboot, Flying Lotus isn’t the only DJ adding new content to his GTA V station. DJ Pooh, Wavves, Twin Shadow and more are also tacking on some tracks. Check out a full rundown of what to expect from the soundtrack itself below.

GTA V box set

Volume 1: Original Music
1. Oh No – Welcome To Los Santos
2. BJ The Chicago Kid – Smokin’ and Ridin’ (feat. Freddie Gibbs & Problem)
3. Twin Shadow – Old Love / New Love
4. Neon Indian – Change Of Coast
5. Wavves – Nine Is God
6. Gangrene – Bassheads
7. Flying Lotus – Stonecutters
8. HEALTH – High Pressure Dave
9. OFF! – What’s Next?
10. Tyler, The Creator – Garbage
11. Nite Jewel – Nowhere To Go
12. A$AP Rocky – R-Cali
13. Age Of Consent – Colours
14. Marion Band$ – Hold Up (feat. Nipsey Hussle)
15. 100s – Life Of A Mack
16. Favored Nations – The Set Up
17. Yeasayer – Don’t Come Close
18. The Chain Gang Of 1974 – Sleepwalking

Volume 2: The Score
1. We Were Set Up
2. A Legitimate Business Man
3. A Haze Of Patriotic Fervor
4. Los Santos At Night
5. North Yankton Memories
6. The Grip
7. Mr. Trevor Philips
8. A Bit Of An Awkward Situation
9. No Happy Endings
10. His Mentor
11. (Sounds Kind Of) Fruity
12. Minor Turbulence
13. Chop The Dog
14. A Lonely Man
15. You Forget A Thousand Things
16. Impotent Rage/Am I Being Clear Now?
17. Fresh Meat
18. Therapy And Other Hobbies
19. Rich Man’s Plaything
20. The Agency Heist
21. Hillbilly Crank Dealers’ Blues
22. Welcome To Los Santos (Outro)

Volume 3: The Soundtrack
1. Flying Lotus – The Kill (feat. Niki Randa)
2. Lee “Scratch” Perry – I Am a Madman
3. Jai Paul – Jasmine (Demo)
4. George McCrae – I Get Lifted
5. Kausion – What You Wanna Do
6. Charlie Feathers – Can’t Hardly Stand It
7. Weirdos – Life of Crime
8. Mexican Institute of Sound – Es Toy
9. Joe Goddard – Gabriel (Soulwax Mix) [feat.Valentina]
10. Bootsy Collins – I’d Rather Be With You
11. Bob Seger – Hollywood Nights
12. Dan Croll – From Nowhere (Baardsen Remix)
13. Problem – Say That Then (feat. Glasses Malone)
14. Waylon Jennings – I Ain’t Living Long Like This
15. Yellowman – Nobody Move, Nobody Get Hurt
16. Simple Minds – All the Things She Said
17. Toro y Moi – Harm in Charge
18. Hot Snakes – This Mystic Decade
19. Cashmere Cat – Mirror Maru