Lighting Bolt Ready “Ferocious” New ‘Fantasy Empire’ LP

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 01.16.15 in News

Lightning Bolt are about to — y’all, I’m so sorry — strike again. The one-of-a-kind noise-rock two-piece will release a new album, Fantasy Empire, on March 24 via Thrill Jockey. It follows 2012′s album-length Oblivion Hunter, which was billed at the time as an EP, and is the first proper album from the Providence, Rhode Island-formed pair since 2009′s Earthly Delights.

Four years in the making, Fantasy Empire is billed as “ferocious, consuming” and “a more accurate translation of [Lightning Bolt's] live experience.” In addition, drummer Brian Chippendale and bassist Brian Gibson have also made more use of live loops and complete separation of instruments during the recording. Some of the songs may sound familiar, having been in the band’s live repertoire since as far back as 2010.

The vinyl edition will be a double LP. Along with the normal version, the record will also be available on “black/white swirl color” vinyl, with quantities limited to 300 copies directly from Thrill Jockey and another 300 that will be sold at Lightning Bolt’s merch table. Yes, Lightning Will be touring the United States later this year.

Check out the album cover (via Pitchfork) and tracklist below, and scroll down to watch 2012 live footage of Fantasy Empire‘s “Over the River and Through the Woods.”

In case you missed it, here‘s Muse covering a bit of “Dracula Mountain” a couple of years ago at New York’s Madison Square Garden. Am I sorry? I’m not even sure anymore.

Lightning Bolt 'Fantasy Empire'

Fantasy Empire (March 24, Thrill Jockey)

1. The Metal East
2. Over the River and Through the Woods
3. Horsepower
4. King of My World
5. Mythmaster
6. Runaway Train
7. Leave the Lantern Lit
8. Dream Genie
9. Snow White (& The 7 Dwarves Fans)