Let ‘The Basement Tape’ Frenzy Begin; New Bob Dylan Track “Dress It Up, Better Have It All “

Lindsay Hood

By Lindsay Hood

on 10.16.14 in News

The Basement Tapes will be released in a few weeks; a 6-disc collection, it totals 138 songs and 30 of those are considered to be previously unreleased Bob Dylan tracks. We’re talking about Dylan material that has potentially never seen the light of day. There haven’t even been any known bootlegs out there, people. Which means that even though the songs were recorded in 1967, they’ll be brand spanking new to our ears. Other tracks have previously been included on the Great White Wonder and the official release of The Basement Tapes from 1975.

Today, Esquire premiered one of the new tracks titled “Dress It Up, Better Have It All.” Esquire also noted that the importance of The Basement Tapes has a lot to do with its recording methods:

The sessions started in the front room of Dylan’s house—his “Red Room”—on Ohayo Mountain Road in Woodstock. Pete Townshend, Buddy Holly, John Lennon, Paul McCartney, and others were home-demo aficionados, but these were recordings of a singer and five-piece band in an informal setting, loose and having fun, rather than in an expensive, often intense and rigid studio setting. The technique would soon become an industry standard, with everyone from the Beatles and the Stones to Jackson Browne and U2 embracing it. But in 1967, it was revolutionary.

The Basement Tapes Complete: The Bootleg Series Vol. 11 will be available on November 4 via Sony/Legacy Recordings.

Listen to “Dress It Up, Better Have It All” over on Esquire.

A full track listing and tour dates are below.

Disc 1
1. Edge of the Ocean
2. My Bucket’s Got a Hole in It
3. Roll on Train
4. Mr. Blue
5. Belshazzar
6. I Forgot to Remember to Forget
7. You Win Again
8. Still in Town
9. Waltzing with Sin
10. Big River (Take 1)
11. Big River (Take 2)
12. Folsom Prison Blues
13. Bells of Rhymney
14. Spanish is the Loving Tongue
15. Under Control
16. Ol’ Roison the Beau
17. I’m Guilty of Loving You
18. Cool Water
19. The Auld Triangle
20. Po’ Lazarus
21. I’m a Fool for You (Take 1)
22. I’m a Fool for You (Take 2)

Disc 2
1. Johnny Todd
2. Tupelo
3. Kickin’ My Dog Around
4. See You Later Allen Ginsberg (Take 1)
5. See You Later Allen Ginsberg (Take 2)
6. Tiny Montgomery
7. Big Dog
8. I’m Your Teenage Prayer
9. Four Strong Winds
10. The French Girl (Take 1)
11. The French Girl (Take 2)
12. Joshua Gone Barbados
13. I’m in the Mood
14. Baby Ain’t That Fine
15. Rock, Salt and Nails
16. A Fool Such As I
17. Song for Canada
18. People Get Ready
19. I Don’t Hurt Anymore
20. Be Careful of Stones That You Throw
21. One Man’s Loss
22. Lock Your Door
23. Baby, Won’t You be My Baby
24. Try Me Little Girl
25. I Can’t Make it Alone
26. Don’t You Try Me Now

Disc 3
1. Young but Daily Growing
2. Bonnie Ship the Diamond
3. The Hills of Mexico
4. Down on Me
5. One for the Road
6. I’m Alright
7. Million Dollar Bash (Take 1)
8. Million Dollar Bash (Take 2)
9. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread (Take 1)
10. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread (Take 2)
11. I’m Not There
12. Please Mrs. Henry
13. Crash on the Levee (Take 1)
14. Crash on the Levee (Take 2)
15. Lo and Behold! (Take 1)
16. Lo and Behold! (Take 2)
17. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere (Take 1)
18. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere (Take 2)
19. I Shall be Released (Take 1)
20. I Shall be Released (Take 2)
21. This Wheel’s on Fire
22. Too Much of Nothing (Take 1)
23. Too Much of Nothing (Take 2)

Disc 4
1. Tears of Rage (Take 1)
2. Tears of Rage (Take 2)
3. Tears of Rage (Take 3)
4. Quinn the Eskimo (Take 1)
5. Quinn the Eskimo (Take 2)
6. Open the Door Homer (Take 1)
7. Open the Door Homer (Take 2)
8. Open the Door Homer (Take 3)
9. Nothing Was Delivered (Take 1)
10. Nothing Was Delivered (Take 2)
11. Nothing Was Delivered (Take 3)
12. All American Boy
13. Sign on the Cross
14. Odds and Ends (Take 1)
15. Odds and Ends (Take 2)
16. Get Your Rocks Off
17. Clothes Line Saga
18. Apple Suckling Tree (Take 1)
19. Apple Suckling Tree (Take 2)
20. Don’t Ya Tell Henry
21. Bourbon Street

Disc 5
1. Blowin’ in the Wind
2. One Too Many Mornings
3. A Satisfied Mind
4. It Ain’t Me, Babe
5. Ain’t No More Cane (Take 1)
6. Ain’t No More Cane (Take 2)
7. My Woman She’s A-Leavin’
8. Santa-Fe
9. Mary Lou, I Love You Too
10. Dress it up, Better Have it All
11. Minstrel Boy
12. Silent Weekend
13. What’s it Gonna be When it Comes Up
14. 900 Miles from My Home
15. Wildwood Flower
16. One Kind Favor
17. She’ll be Coming Round the Mountain
18. It’s the Flight of the Bumblebee
19. Wild Wolf
20. Goin’ to Acapulco
21. Gonna Get You Now
22. If I Were A Carpenter
23. Confidential
24. All You Have to do is Dream (Take 1)
25. All You Have to do is Dream (Take 2)

Disc 6
1. 2 Dollars and 99 Cents
2. Jelly Bean
3. Any Time
4. Down by the Station
5. Hallelujah, I’ve Just Been Moved
6. That’s the Breaks
7. Pretty Mary
8. Will the Circle be Unbroken
9. King of France
10. She’s on My Mind Again
11. Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad
12. On a Rainy Afternoon
13. I Can’t Come in with a Broken Heart
14. Next Time on the Highway
15. Northern Claim
16. Love is Only Mine
17. Silhouettes
18. Bring it on Home
19. Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies
20. The Spanish Song (Take 1)
21. The Spanish Song (Take 2)

Bob Dylan, The Basement Tapes Raw (November 4, Legacy Recordings)

Disc 1
1. Open the Door, Homer
2. Odds and Ends
3. Million Dollar Bash
4. One Too Many Mornings
5. I Don’t Hurt Anymore
6. Ain’t No More Cane
7. Crash on the Levee
8. Tears of Rage
9. Dress it up, Better Have it All
10. I’m Not There
11. Johnny Todd
12. Too Much of Nothing
13. Quinn the Eskimo
14. Get Your Rocks Off
15. Santa-Fe
16. Silent Weekend
17. Clothes Line Saga
18. Please, Mrs. Henry
19. I Shall be Released

Disc 2
1. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere
2. Lo and Behold!
3. Minstrel Boy
4. Tiny Montgomery
5. All You Have to Do Is Dream
6. Goin’ to Acapulco
7. 900 Miles from My Home
8. One for the Road
9. I’m Alright
10. Blowin’ in the Wind
11. Apple Suckling Tree
12. Nothing Was Delivered
13. Folsom Prison Blues
14. This Wheel’s on Fire
15. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread
16. Don’t Ya Tell Henry
17. Baby, Won’t You be My Baby
18. Sign on the Cross
19. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere

Bob Dylan Tour Dates:

October 17 Seattle, WA—Paramount Theatre
October 18 Seattle, WA—Paramount Theatre
October 19 Seattle, WA—Paramount Theatre
October 21 Portland, OR—Keller Auditorium
October 24 Los Angeles, CA—Dolby Theatre
October 25 Los Angeles, CA—Dolby Theatre
October 26 Los Angeles, CA—Dolby Theatre
October 28 Oakland, CA—Paramount Theatre
October 29 Oakland, CA—Paramount Theatre
October 30 Oakland, CA—Paramount Theatre
November 1 Denver, CO—Bellco Theatre
November 4 Minneapolis, MN—Orpheum Theatre
November 5 Minneapolis, MN—Orpheum Theatre
November 6 Minneapolis, MN—Orpheum Theatre
November 12 Cleveland, OH—State Theatre
November 14 Boston, MA—Orpheum Theatre
November 15 Providence, RI—Providence Performing Arts Center
November 17 Toronto, ON—Sony Center
November 18 Toronto, ON—Sony Center
November 21 Philadelphia, PA—Academy of Music
November 22 Philadelphia, PA—Academy of Music
November 23 Philadelphia, PA—Academy of Music
November 25 Washington, DC—DAR Constitution Hall
November 26 Newark, NJ—New Jersey Performing Arts Center
November 28 New York, NY—Beacon Theatre
November 29 New York, NY—Beacon Theatre
December 1 New York, NY—Beacon Theatre
December 2 New York, NY—Beacon Theatre