Led Zeppelin Detail ‘Physical Graffiti’ Reissue

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 01.08.15 in News

Led Zeppelin have announced the latest in their series of reissues. An expanded edition of 1975′s Physical Graffiti, remastered by guitarist Jimmy Page, will be available on February 24, the 40th anniversary of the original double album. As with the five albums the British classic-rock giants reissued last year, the release will include a deluxe version with unreleased versions of the songs.

For Physical Graffiti, the bonus disc features seven tracks. Among them are a “rough orchestra mix” of the record’s iconic “Kashmir,” here titled “Driving Through Kashmir.” Also included are a rough mix of “Houses of the Holy,” with overdubs, as well as what’s billed as a “strikingly different early version” of “In the Light.”

The reissue will be available in a range of formats. The most comprehensive is a “super deluxe” box set, which contains high-resolution digital audio, a 96-page hardcover book, three 180-gram vinyl LPs and three CDs, plus a print of the original album cover. Other options are a simple double CD, a triple-CD deluxe edition, a double LP, a triple-LP deluxe edition and a digital download.

In other Led Zeppelin news, the band recently lost the first round in a copyright battle over “Stairway to Heaven.”

Read our contributor Luke Turner’s interview this past November with Jimmy Page.

Physical Graffiti — Companion Audio Disc (February 24, Warner Music)

1. Brandy & Coke (Trampled Under Foot – Initial Rough Mix)
2. Sick Again (Early Version)
3. In My Time Of Dying (Initial Rough Mix)
4. Houses Of The Holy (Rough Mix With Overdubs)
5. Everybody Makes It Through (In The Light Early Version/In Transit)
6. Boogie With Stu (Sunset Sound Mix)
7. Driving Through Kashmir (Kashmir Rough Orchestra Mix)