Bloc Party’s Kele Teases Electro-Pop Return with ‘Trick’ Solo Album

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 07.23.14 in News

Bloc Party‘s return with 2012′s Four ranked as one of our 10 Most Unlikely Reunions in Music. A bit likelier, then, is frontman Kele Okereke‘s announcement that he’s about to release another solo album. Once again using the mononym Kele, the heart-on-stylish-sleeve British singer/songwriter’s follow-up to his 2010 solo debut, The Boxer, and his 2011 EP The Hunter is titled Trick. It’s due out on October 14 in the United States and a day earlier across the Atlantic on Lilac Records (via Kobalt Label Services). You can pre-order it via iTunes and watch a trailer that suggests Okereke has kept up his earlier solo work’s infatuation with vanguard electronic producers. “This is our year zero,” he sings, which — nearly a decade after Bloc Party’s debut, 2005′s Silent Alarm — s a bracing proposition indeed. Scroll down for the cover art and track listing.

Kele Okoreke's 'Trick' cover art

Kele, Trick (October 14; Lilac)

1. First Impressions
2. Coasting
3. Doubt
4. Closer
5. Like We Used To
6. Humour Me
7. Year Zero
8. My Hotel Room
9. Silver and Gold
10. Stay the Night