Jessy Lanza, Gorguts Land on Polaris Music Prize Longlist

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 06.20.14 in News

Canada’s Polaris Music Prize has revealed this year’s longlist, including such welcome left field selections as Gorguts, Jessy Lanza, Mac DeMarco and Owen Pallett. The 40 potential $30,000 prize winners will be whittled down to just 10 on July 15, with the country’s final word on the year’s best album coming September 22.

Past Polaris honorees include Caribou (2008), Fucked Up (2009), Arcade Fire (2011) and Feist (2012). Last year’s winners, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, responded by sharing a lengthy statement about why they find the whole thing a bit troubling.

“Holding a gala during a time of austerity and normalized decline is a weird thing to do,” they wrote, adding that “organizing a gala just so musicians can compete against each other for a novelty-sized cheque doesn’t serve the cause of righteous music at all.”

Here’s who will have a chance to take a stand against award shows this year…

Arcade Fire – ‘Reflektor’
AroarA – ‘In the Pines’
Austra – ‘Olympia’
Philippe B – ‘Ornithologie, la nuit’
Basia Bulat – ‘Tall Tall Shadow’
Chromeo – ‘White Women’
Cousins – ‘The Halls of Wickwire’
Cowboy Junkies / Various – ‘The Kennedy Suite’
The Darcys – ‘Warring’
Dead Obies – ‘Montréal $ud’
Mac DeMarco – ‘Salad Days’
DIANA – ‘Perpetual Surrender’
Drake – ‘Nothing Was the Same’
Freedom Writers – ‘NOW’
Fresh Snow – ‘I’
Frog Eyes – ‘Carey’s Cold Spring’
Gorguts – ‘Colored Sands’
Tim Hecker – ‘Virgins’
Jimmy Hunt – ‘Maladie d’amour’
Jessy Lanza – ‘Pull My Hair Back’
Kalle Mattson – ‘Someday, the Moon Will Be Gold’
Moonface – ‘Julia with Blue Jeans On’
Mounties – ‘Thrash Rock Legacy’
Odonis Odonis -’ Hard Boiled Soft Boiled’
Owen Pallett – ‘In Conflict’
Pink Mountaintops – ‘Get Back’
The Sadies – ‘Internal Sounds’
Shad – ‘Flying Colours’
Shooting Guns – ‘Brotherhood of the Ram’
Solids – ‘Blame Confusion’
Rae Spoon – ‘My Prairie Home’
The Strumbellas – ‘We Still Move on Dance Floors’
Tanya Tagaq – ‘Animism’
Thus Owls – ‘Turning Rocks’
Timber Timbre – ‘Hot Dreams’
Chad VanGaalen – ‘Shrink Dust’
Bry Webb – ‘Free Will’
Yamantaka // Sonic Titan – ‘UZU’