‘The Inevitable End’ for Röyksopp

Lindsay Hood

By Lindsay Hood

on 09.29.14 in News

You’d think they might want to slow down after touring with Robyn all summer, but Svein Berge and Torbjørn Brundtland just keep cranking out new projects; although this next one takes a definitive turn of finality. The Röyksopp duo will be releasing a new album, due in November, but it seems that it might be the last one that we’ll see from them under this moniker.

In a press release that announced The Inevitable End, they stated:

We feel like this is a goodbye to the traditional album format. In our consecutive run of albums, we have been able to say what we want to say and do what we want to do with the LP. We’re not going to stop making music, but the album format as such, this is the last thing from us.

And that certainly does feel like a goodbye, if not a permanent farewell.

Of course their number one girl will join them for a track or two on the full-length follow-up to 2010′s Senior. Robyn is featuring on the song “Rong” and a new version of “Monuments,” which first appeared on their collaborative EP Do It Again. There’s also a new video for The Inevitable End’s “Monuments,” directed by Stian Andersen. The previous video cut the original track down to seven minutes, and this new version streamlines the single even further. Coming in at five minutes, it features significant footage from the Swedish songstress and the Norwegian electronic duo’s Do It Again tour.

The Inevitable End will be released on November 11 via Cherrytree/Interscope. Check out the first single from the album, “Skulls,” below:

The full track listing for The Inevitable End:

1. Skulls
2. Monument featuring Robyn (T.I.E. Version)
3. Sordid Affair featuring Ryan James of Man Without Country
4. You Know I Have To Go featuring Jamie McDermott of the Irrepressibles
5. Save Me featuring Susanne Sundfør
6. I Had This Thing featuring Jamie McDermott of the Irrepressibles
7. Rong featuring Robyn
8. Here She Comes Again featuring Jamie McDermott of the Irrepressibles
9. Running to the Sea featuring Susanne Sundfør
10. Compulsion featuring Jamie McDermott of the Irrepressibles
11. Coup de Grace
12. Thank You