Steve Arrington and Dam-Funk

Funk Icon Steve Arrington Returns with Retrospective, Tour Dates

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 07.22.14 in News

Fresh off his recent work with Dam-Funk and the Snoop Dogg side project 7 Days of Funk, former Slave frontman Steve Arrington has revealed a new retrospective record and a rare week-long run of tour dates. Due out September 29 through Tummy Touch, Way Out (80-84) features heavily sampled singles — see: tracks by A Tribe Called Quest, Jay-Z, Mariah Carey and more — like “Way Out” and “Weak at the Knees” alongside “unreleased songs deemed too progressive by Atlantic Records at the time and five previously unfinished tracks featuring the classic Hall of Fame line up with brand new vocals and finishing touches from his current band.”

Check out a rundown of the digital version below — the CD pressing is spread over two discs and 22 songs — along with its lead track and the details for Arrington’s tour…

Way Out (80-84):
1. Without Your Love
2. Funk And Roll Junky
3. Summertime Lovin
4. Tribute To Trane
5. Special FX From Mars
6. Hyperspace
7. Crazy About You
8. Why
9. Mysterious Woman
10. The Message

Steve Arrington tour dates:
8/14 Chicago, IL – Beat Kitchen
8/17 Boston, MA – Middle East Upstairs
8/19 New York, NY – Le Poisson Rouge
8/21 Toronto, ON – Lee’s Palace Upstairs/The Cave