Fucked Up Announce New Album, Share Lead Single

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 03.18.14 in News

Fucked Up have revealed the details behind their fourth full-length record. Due out June 3 through Matador, Glass Boys is described as “tight and concise and direct, an album of real and direct sentiment rather than artifice…of reconciling who you are as an adult with your teenage self, finding the heart of what originally drew them into music.”

Or as frontman Damian Abraham told Stereogum last month, “I feel really cathartic doing this record. With David Comes To Life, I was singing as a character and I was excited about it but, writing now is more, ‘This is what Damian wants to say, this is what Damian thinks.’”

Helping the singer hammer his points home is a sound as influenced by Negative Approach as it is The Who and a number of special guests who have yet to be revealed. According to drummer Jonah Falco, “It runs the gamut from people who are famous, recognizable Canadian rock personalities to literally Damian’s former roommate to people that have been on Fucked Up records before.”

Who has been on Fucked Up records before, you ask? Why, everyone from Andrew W.K. to the Vivian Girls to Austra singer Katie Stelmanis. As we wait to hear more details about who made the cut this time, here is the album’s lead single, cover art and tracklisting; the latest entry in Fucked Up’s annual “Zodiac series,” Year of the Dragon, is also hitting shops on April 15 through Tankcrimes

Fucked Up - 'Glass Boys' cover art

Fucked Up, Glass Boys (Matador, June 3):
1. Echo Boomer
2. Touch Stone
3. Sun Glass
4. The Art Of Patrons
5. Warm Change
6. Paper The House
7. DET
8. Led By Hand
9. The Great Divide
10. Glass Boys