Photo by David Black

The Fresh & Onlys Wrap New Album With Trans Am Guitarist

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 03.05.14 in News

Considering how deep their discography is between all those stray 7-inches and side projects (mostly solo efforts by frontman Tim Cohen and guitarist Wymond Miles), it takes a little effort for a new Fresh & Onlys LP to stand out from the proverbial pack. House of Spirits looks like it’ll fit that bill nicely. Aside from the fact that many songs were written with a very limited palette — a drum machine, keyboard and guitar — during Cohen’s time at a secluded horse ranch in Arizona, the album splits its story into two distinct parts. According to a press release, “the A-side is devoted to the absurd and unreliable character of dreams culled from Cohen’s nightly subconscious activity at the ranch while the latter half finds the speaker awoken, resolute and lucid. All throughout, Cohen says the album grapples with the ‘idea that home is where your feet are.’”

“Bells of Paonia” is the first byproduct of the group’s soul-searching sessions at the San Francisco studio of Trans Am guitarist Phil Manley. As promised, it’s not exactly standard garage-rock fare. Featuring a top layer of steady-handed distortion, a stagnant, drum-less rhythm section, and harmonies that grapple with secular gospel sounds, it’s promising to say the least…

The Fresh & Onlys - 'House of Spirits' album art

The Fresh & Onlys, House of Spirits (Mexican Summer, June 10th):
1. Home is Where?
2. Who Let the Devil
3. Bells of Paonia
4. Animal of One
5. I’m Awake
6. Hummingbird
7. April Fools
8. Ballerina
9. Candy
10. Madness