Foo Fighters Release New Single “Something From Nothing”

Lindsay Hood

By Lindsay Hood

on 10.16.14 in News

In advance of their new album Sonic Highways, the Foo Fighters shared the first single “Something From Nothing” off their upcoming LP. The album is accompanied by several grand concepts. First and foremost, it was recorded in eight different cities; Austin, Chicago, Los Angeles, Nashville, New Orleans, New York, Seattle, and Washington, D.C. Each track will feature a musician from the city where it was recorded. Dave Grohl also held off writing lyrics until the last day of each session so that the song would ring true to the band’s recording experience. There are also nine different covers for the album, one for each city and a composite cover as well.

Prior to the album’s release, an HBO documentary series “Foo Fighters: Sonic Highways” will start airing tomorrow night, Friday October 17, at 11 PM. (You can also catch the premiere party concert afterward, in case you just haven’t gotten enough Foo Fighters. It will be streaming on HBO’s Facebook page.) The show was directed by Grohl and features interviews with a whole host of other artists, including James Murphy, Ian MacKaye, Chuck D, Dan Auerbach, Mike D, Willie Nelson, and producer Steve Albini.

The Foo Fighters have also been playing on the Late Show with David Letterman all week. Thus far, they’ve invited Zac Brown, the Wilson sisters from Heart, and Tony Joe White on the show to join them. Tonight, they’ll have Rick Nielsen of Cheap Trick as a guest.

Sonic Highways is available on November 10 via Roswell/RCA Records.

Listen to the single “Something From Nothing” and check out the full tracklisting below.

1. Something From Nothing
2. The Feast and The Famine
3. Congregation
4. What Did I Do?/God As My Witness
5. Outside
6. In The Clear
7. Subterranean
8. I Am A River