Foo Fighters Announce New ‘Sonic Highways’ Album

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 08.11.14 in News

Foo Fighters have finally shared the details surrounding the new album they’ve been teasing for months. Due out November 10 through Roswell/RCA, Sonic Highways shares its title with a documentary series that’s set to start airing on HBO Friday, October 17. In it, the band is shown making one track in each of the eight following cities: Austin, Chicago, Los Angeles, Nashville, New Orleans, New York, Seattle, and Washington, D.C.

According to a press release, “All songs feature local legends sitting in, with every lyric written in an unprecedented experimental style: [frontman] Dave [Grohl] held off on putting down words until the last day of each session, so as to be inspired by the experiences, interviews for the HBO series, and other local personalities who became part of the process.” Rumored guests include members of Cheap Trick (Rick Nielsen), Eagles (Joe Walsh), the Butthole Surfers (Gibby Haynes) and Public Enemy (Chuck D).

“This album is instantly recognizable as a Foo Fighters record,” Grohl explains, “but there’s something deeper and more musical to it. I think that these cities and these people influenced us to stretch out and explore new territory, without losing our ‘sound’.”

Check out the album’s official trailer below, along with an HBO teaser, cover art and a complete tracklisting…

Foo Fighters - 'Sonic Highways' album art

Sonic Highways:
1. Something From Nothing
2. The Feast and The Famine
3. Congregation
4. What Did I Do?/God As My Witness
5. Outside
6. In The Clear
7. Subterranean
8. I Am A River