Deerhoof Mark 20th Anniversary With New Album, ‘La Isla Bonita’

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 08.20.14 in News

Deerhoof have revealed the details behind their twelfth album, La Isla Bonita. Due out November 4 through Polyvinyl, the effort was co-produced by Godmode founder/former Mr. Dream drummer Nick Sylvester and recorded in the basement of guitarist Ed Rodriguez. More importantly, this marks Deerhoof’s twentieth year as a band.

“No band is an island,” drummer Greg Saunier wrote in a press release. “Felt like one sometimes, in those budgetless and obscure early days, [singer] Satomi [Matsuzaki] and me locked in the basement trying to figure out how our clashing personalities and ideas could turn into a band. If we hadn’t had that crazed mid-’90s Bay Area punk scene to call home, I doubt we’d still be here to chat about a 20th anniversary.”

As for whether they’re trying to make a Big Statement with this record, Saunier added, “We don’t set out to create masterpieces. The Deerhoof fan is a thrill-seeker. This is the latest volley in an ongoing conversation we’ve been honored to hold for 20 years.”

Check out the spastic lead single “Exit Only” below, along with cover art and a complete tracklisting…

Deerhoof - 'La Isla Bonita' album cover

La Isla Bonita:
1. Paradise Girls
2. Mirror Monster
3. Doom
4. Last Fad
5. Tiny Bubbles
6. Exit Only
7. Big House Waltz
8. God 2
9. Black Pitch
10. Oh Bummer