Death From Above 1979 Gets ‘Physical’ With Scorching “Trainwreck 1979″

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 07.08.14 in News

A squeal of feedback, a spazz-punk stomp, and howls of louche rapaciousness, with a smattering of catchy, keyboard-splashed “ooh ooh ooh” backing vocals. How did you expect the first new track from Death From Above 1979 since their 2011 reunion to go? “Trainwreck 1979,” streaming below, comes ahead of The Physical World, the synth-wielding Canadian duo’s follow-up to 2004 debut album You’re A Woman, I’m A Machine (2005 also saw the remix compilation Romance Bloody Romance).

New music from bands that had once broken up is always a vexed subject, but the combo of drummer/singer Sebastien Grainger and bassist/utility man Jesse F. Keeler has been testing out unreleased songs live at least since 2012. The sneering propulsion of “Trainwreck 1979″ doesn’t crash very far from the debut, and Grainger’s shouts, at least, suggest he’s hungry for more: “I want it all / I can’t get enough.” As he recently told NME, “The goodwill of reuniting doesn’t sustain you.” Another reason for the fresh material? “Well, you’ve been fucking asking for it.”

The Physical World is due out September 9 via Last Gang, and you can scroll down for the tracklist.


Death From Above 1979, The Physical World (Last Gang, September 9):
1. Cheap Talk
2. Right On, Frankenstein!
3. Virgins
4. Always On
5. Crystal Ball
6. White Is Red
7. Trainwreck 1979
8. Nothin’ Left
9. Government Trash
10. Gemini
11. The Physical World