Chvrches Reveal “Dead Air” from ‘The Hunger Games’ Soundtrack

Lindsay Hood

By Lindsay Hood

on 11.04.14 in News

We’ve only got a couple of weeks to go until we watch Katniss Everdeen storm District One. In the meantime, Lorde has been giving us peeks of her curated soundtrack for the film; including her own track “Yellow Flicker Beat” and a collaboration between Miguel and The Chemical Brothers titled “This Is Not A Game.”

The latest release is a track called “Dead Air” from the group Chvrches. The band has actually been playing it live for the past two months, including the last show of their American tour in Austin. They also recorded “Get Away” for Zane Lowe’s alternate score to the film Drive and released a video for their single “Tide” recently.

In addition to Chvrches contribution to The Hunger Games, we’ll also see upcoming tracks from HAIM, Bat for Lashes, Tinashe and Lorde herself, amongst others. Last week, Ariana Grande revealed that the mysteriously labeled “Track 5″ was actually a collaboration between herself and Lorde that was not finished just yet. And Kanye West also remixed “Yellow Flicker Beat” to add to the line-up as well.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part I will hit theaters on November 21. The soundtrack will be available on November 18 via Republic Records.

“Dead Air” and a full tracklist are below:


1. Stromae, “Meltdown” (ft. Lorde, Pusha T, Q-Tip, HAIM)
2. Chvrches, “Dead Air”
3. Tove Lo, “Scream My Name”
4. Charli XCX, “Kingdom” (ft. Simon Bon)
5. Various Artists, Track 5
6. Raury, “Lost Souls”
7. Lorde, “Yellow Flicker Beat”
8. Tinashe, “The Leap”
9. Bat for Lashes, “Plan the Escape”
10. Grace Jones, “Original Beast”
11. Lorde, “Flicker” (Kanye West Rework)
12. XOV, “Animal”
13. The Chemical Brothers, “This Is Not a Game” (ft. Miguel)
14. Lorde, “Ladder Song”