Childish Gambino Drops ‘STN MTN/Kauai’ Mixtape

Lindsay Hood

By Lindsay Hood

on 10.02.14 in News

Yesterday Complex News caught up with Donald Glover to talk about the various projects that the rapper and actor has on his schedule. Oddly enough, his upcoming role in Magic Mike XXL was not mentioned, but the Childish Gambino mixtape that Glover’s been hinting at for the past month was discussed in detail. This turned out to be an incredibly timely conversation as the rapper released STN MTN/Kauai this morning. Named partially for his hometown of Stone Mountain, Georgia, the mixtape is part of DJ Drama’s Gangsta Grillz series, features Kari Faux, Young Scooter, and R O Y A L T Y, and includes a remix of Future’s “Move That Dope.” (Although the track “Sober” that Gambino dropped in mid-September seems to be missing.)

During the interview Glover describes himself as a “metropolitan rapper” and tells Complex a little more about the mixtape/EP concept. He said:

It’s a Gangsta Grillz mixtape that goes into an EP. The Gangsta Grillz mixtape is a dream, and the dream ends when I wake up in Kauai. And they go into each other; it’s one complete project. You can download the mixtape and you can go buy the EP. The money from the EP goes to help keeping Kauai clean.

Glover also mentioned that the collaborative EP that he had planned with Chance the Rapper has been put on hold due to their conflicting schedules and Chance’s current tour. But Glover does hope to start shooting his upcoming comedy series Atlanta for FX this fall.

You can download the mixtape in full here. Check out the full tracklist below.

STN MTN/Kauai Tracklist:

1. Dream / Southern Hospitality / Partna Dem
2. Fucks Given
3. No Small Talk featuring Kari Faux
4. Money Baby
5. Move That Dope / Nectel Chirp / Let Your Hair Blow featuring Young Scooter
6. AssShots remix featuring R O Y A L T Y
7. Childish Gambino @ The Atrium
8. U Don’t Have to Call
9. Candler Road
10. All Yall
11. Go DJ