Check Out the Tracklist for the ‘Inherent Vice’ Soundtrack

Lindsay Hood

By Lindsay Hood

on 11.17.14 in News

We’ve only got a few weeks to go before Paul Thomas Anderson’s Inherent Vice is released in theaters on December 12. The film is based on Thomas Pynchon’s 2009 novel of the same name. (There’s also a rumor that the notoriously elusive Pynchon will make a cameo in the film; a bit of a cruel prank as there’s no current photographs of the author to confirm his appearance.)

Anderson decided to let Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood score the film; the two also worked together on Anderson’s Academy Award-winning movie There Will Be Blood back in 2007.

As previously reported, a reworking of Radiohead’s “Spooks,” performed by Supergrass, will be included on the soundtrack along with artists such as Neil Young, Les Baxter and a few others.

And don’t forget, the narrator for Inherent Vice is none other than the whimisical, harp-playing “earth goddess” herself — Joanna Newsom.

The soundtrack for the film will be available on December 15 via Nonesuch.

Although The Film Stage released a tracklist earlier in October, it was incorrect. The appropriate tracklist is below:

1. Jonny Greenwood – “Shasta”
2. Can – “Vitamin C”
3. Jonny Greenwood – “Meeting Crocker Fenway”
4. The Marketts – “Here Comes the Ho-Dads”
5. Jonny Greenwood – “Spooks”
6. Jonny Greenwood – “Shasta Fay”
7. Minnie Riperton – “Les Fleur”
8. Jonny Greenwood – “The Chryskylodon Institute”
9. Kyu Sakamoto – “Sukiyaki”
10. Jonny Greenwood – “Adrian Prussia”
11. Neil Young – “Journey Through the Past”
12. Les Baxter – “Simba”
13. Jonny Greenwood – “Under the Paving-Stones, the Beach!”
14. Jonny Greenwood – “The Golden Fang”
15. Jonny Greenwood – “Amethyst”
16. Jonny Greenwood – “Shasta Fay Hepworth”
17. Chuck Jackson – “Any Day Now”

Watch the official trailer for Inherent Vice: