CFCF Shares Steve Reich-Inspired “Oil”

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 12.23.14 in News

Mike Silver has been almost suspiciously quiet this year. The Canadian producer/DJ, who writes and records as CFCF, shared a half-hour mix on Halloween and included two new tracks on a remix EP, Outsiders, this spring, but there’s no word yet on a follow-up to his sophomore album, last year’s Outside. And yet Tom Krell, aka How to Dress Well, told me in June, in an unpublished interview excerpt, that CFCF had a “new age record” on the way that would be his best yet. But now, following the mix’s lonesome highlight “Don’t Worry” and a piece called “Prisma” from September’s Driftless Ambient 1 compilation, comes more new CFCF.

Silver cited Philip Glass as an influence for 2012′s piano- and synth-based collection of miniatures, Exercises, and another minimalist giant towers over CFCF’s new ambient-house track “Oil”: He told The Fader he was in “a “heavy Steve Reich phase” when he wrote it, “about a year and change ago.” From the second entry in Adult Swim and electronic label Ghostly’s Ghostly Swim series, which will also feature Dauwd, Shigeto and Babe Rainbow, it’s more of a mood piece than a dance track. Bell-like tones interlock and repeat, until eventually lurching bass, a four-on-the-floor pulse and house-minded keys join. The Ghostly Swim comp will be available as a free download later today; scroll down for the tracklist.

1. Pascäal – Holo
2. Shigeto – Tide Pools
3. Anenon – Grapevine
4. Heathered Pearls – Supra
5. Babe Rainbow – Don’t Tell Me I’m Wrong
6. Dauwd – Kolido
7. Patricia – Spotting
8. Lord RAJA – Spilt Out In Cursive
9. CFCF – Oil
10. Feral – Mirror
11. Mary Lattimore & Jeff Zeigler – I Only Have Eyes for You
12. AceMo – Futurism
13. Nautiluss – Lonely Planet