The Who Celebrate Their 50th Anniversary with New Song “Be Lucky”

Lindsay Hood

By Lindsay Hood

on 09.25.14 in News

We haven’t seen any new material from The Who since their comeback album Endless Wire in 2006, but it turns out that they have finally recorded a song after these long eight years. “Be Lucky” is an original track that will be released with the band’s greatest hits collection, The Who Hits 50!, on October 27. A European anniversary tour will follow shortly after the album’s arrival to celebrate the 50 years that The Who have remained together.

According to Rolling Stone, all profits from “Be Lucky” will be donated to Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend’s charity Teen Cancer America.

The group recently crowdsourced their fans for rare memorabilia with the promise of tickets to the upcoming tour and credit for any of the items that are included in the show and upcoming releases.

There’s still no word on whether or not this will be absolute final tour for The Who, but Daltrey has been quoted as saying that it’s “the beginning of a long goodbye.” Suffice to say, if you’ve been hankering to see the group perform than you might want to hunt down some rare Who artifacts and buy yourself a plane ticket.

Check out tour dates and the full track listing for The Who Hits 50! below:

Tour dates:
11/30 Glasgow – SSE Hyrdo
12/2 Leeds – First Direct Arena
12/5 Nottingham – Capital FM Arena
12/7 Birmingham – NIA
12/9 Newcastle – Metro
12/11 Liverpool- Echo Arena
12/13 Manchester – Phones 4U Arena
12/15 Cardiff – Motorpoint
12/17 London – The O2

Track listing:
Disc 1
1. The High Numbers – Zoot Suit
2. I Can’t Explain
3. Anyway Anyhow Anywhere
4. My Generation
5. Substitute
6. The Kids Are Alright
7. I’m A Boy
8. Happy Jack
9. Boris The Spider
10. Pictures Of Lily
11. The Last Time
12. I Can See For Miles
13. Call Me Lightning
14. Dogs
15. Magic Bus
16. Pinball Wizard
17. I’m Free
18. The Seeker
19. Summertime Blues (Live)
20. See Me, Feel Me
21. Won’t Get Fooled Again (Single Edit)
22. Let’s See Action
23. Bargain
24. Behind Blue Eyes

Disc 2
1. Baba O’ Riley
2. Join Together
3. Relay
4. 5:15
5. Love Reign O’er Me
6. Postcard
7. Squeeze Box
8. Slip Kid
9. Who Are You
10. Trick Of The Light
11. You Better You Bet
12. Don’t Let The Coat
13. Athena
14. Eminence Front
15. It’s Hard
16. Real Good Looking Boy
17. It’s Not Enough
18. Be Lucky