Built to Spill Share “Living Zoo,” from First Album Since 2009

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 02.24.15 in News

Serenity now: Built to Spill have shared “Living Zoo,” our first preview of the Pacific Northwest indie-rock heroes’ first new album since 2009′s There Is No Enemy, and it’s a freewheeling romp that beams joy out of accepting the inevitable. The band sprints along for almost 90 seconds of instrumental bugouts before Doug Martsch starts singing, with lyrics that address “being a human” and conclude, in wistful harmonies, “that’s all right … doing fine.” Despite yet another band lineup refresh, it’s tunefully wiry in a way that’s immediate recognizable as Built to Spill. And seeing as there’s no getting out of this particular wild animal park, it’s at least a fresh reason to look forward to Built to Spill’s upcoming album, Untethered Moon, which will be available April 21 via Warner Bros.

The group is also heading out on a tour that includes a stop at Coachella.

Built to Spill, 'Untethered Moon'

Untethered Moon (April 21, Warner Bros.)

1. All Our Songs
2. Living Zoo
3. On The Way
4. Some Other Song
5. Never Be The Same
6. C.R.E.B.
7. Another Day
8. Horizon To Cliff
9. So
10. When I’m Blind