Brian Wilson’s Star-Studded ‘No Pier Pressure’ Could’ve Been More So

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 01.29.15 in News

As expected, Brian Wilson‘s new album will include contributions from a variety of younger singers. In a surprise, though, No Pier Pressure — due for release on April 7 via Capitol — won’t feature two of the most intriguing potential collaborators.

Kacey Musgraves will appear on the Wilson’s first solo album since 2011′s In the Key of Disney, as will She & Him‘s Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward, plus fun.‘s Nate Ruess. Other guests include Don Was and Capital Cities’ Sebu Simonian, as well as Beach Boys members Al Jardine, David Marks and Blondie Chaplin.

Missing from the tracklist, as Pitchfork notes, are Frank Ocean and Lana Del Rey. Along with Musgraves and Deschanel, the two were touted as possible featured artists on Wilson’s new album in a print-only Rolling Stone report last June. Ocean was named as a potential guest on “Our Special Love,” while Del Rey would’ve been on “The Last Song”; both tracks appear on No Pier Pressure, though without mention so far of those could-be collaborators.

Ocean and Del Rey’s absence from the final tracklist follows some fan blowback over the earlier list of possible album guests. Following the RS report, Wilson posted a lengthy statement addressing on Facebook addressing the backlash. “To my fans: It kind of bums me out to see some of the negativity here about the album I’ve been working so hard on,” he said. “I’m really proud of these new songs and to hear these great artists sing on them just blows me away.” In two recent online Wilson Q&As, one fan asked about a possible video for the Del Rey song, to no reply; there was a question about Frank Zappa, but little if any mention of Ocean.

UPDATE: Ocean and Del Rey were left off the album due to “scheduling,” a rep for Wilson told Pitchfork.

Musgraves had reportedly been set for a “sassy” song titled “Sharing a New Day”; according to the tracklist, her track with Wilson is actually called “Guess You Had to Be There.” She & Him collaboration “On the Island” was described as “space-age bossa nova.”

Producing No Pier Pressure is Joe Thomas, who also oversaw the Beach Boys’ 2012 comeback album That’s Why God Made the Radio. Bonus songs “Don’t Worry,” “Somewhere Quiet” and “I’m Feeling Sad” will appear on deluxe and double-vinyl releases.

See the tracklist and cover art below. And scroll down to watch Wilson, Stevie Wonder and a host of pop stars revisit “God Only Knows,” a title that for now doubles as a reason for Ocean and Del Rey not appearing in the No Pier Pressure details.

Brian Wilson, 'No Pier Pressure'

No Pier Pressure (April 7, Capitol)

1. This Beautiful Day
2. Runaway Dancer (feat. Sebu Simonian)
3. What Ever Happened (feat. Al Jardine and David Marks)
4. On The Island (feat. She & Him)
5. Our Special Love (feat. Peter Hollens)
6. The Right Time (feat. Al Jardine and David Marks)
7. Guess You Had To Be There (feat. Kacey Musgraves)
8. Tell Me Why (feat. Al Jardine)
9. Sail Away (feat. Blondie Chaplin and Al Jardine)
10. One Kind Of Love
11. Saturday Night (feat. Nate Ruess)
12. The Last Song
13. Half Moon Bay