Björk Will Release New Album ‘Vulnicura’ in March

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 01.14.15 in News

Björk will return in less than two new months with her first new album since 2011′s Biophilia.

The conceptually inclined Icelandic icon will release her ninth solo studio album, Vulnicura, in March, she announced last night.

A new Björk album is exciting in its own right, but she also confirmed a list of credits that suggest a dark and exploratory electronic sound. Arca, aka the Venezuelan producer who previously worked on Kanye West’s Yeezus and on FKA twigs’ LP1, co-produced six songs and co-wrote two. The Haxan Cloak, aka gloom-laden London producer Bobby Krlic, co-produced one song and mixed or co-mixed every song on the album.

It can’t all be electronic, though. Björk did string arrangements for the album, she said in the announcement.

Another song was co-written with John Flynn, who might be the Lunchmoney Lewis or Majid Jordan of this release cycle.

The specific running order isn’t confirmed, but Vulnicura‘s song titles are “Stonemilker,” “Lionsong,” “History of Touches,” “Black Lake,” “Family,” “Notget,” “Atom Dance,” “Mouth Mantra” and “Quicksand.”

Björk is scheduled to perform at New York City’s Governors Ball in June, raising the possibility of additional live dates. Also in New York, the Museum of Modern Art will present a retrospective of her work beginning on March 8.

Björk’s voice recently appeared on the first half of an upcoming Death Grips double album. Sadly, longtime Björk collaborator Mark Bell passed away in October.

See where Arca placed in our 75 Best Songs of 2014 and 100 Best Albums of 2014.

Read Björk’s full note below.

Bjork, Vulnicura, note