Common, Michael Brown’s Parents Hush BET Hip-Hop Awards

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 10.15.14 in News

When the parents of Michael Brown took the stage during the taping of the BET Hip-Hop Awards, on September 20 at Atlanta’s Civic Center, their teenage son had already been gone for more than a month. The show didn’t actually run on cable TV until last night, but the appearance by Lesley McSpadden and Michael Brown Sr. was still all too timely. The two walked out onstage after Common — who has been outspoken about the unarmed Brown’s August 9 death by the gun of a Ferguson, Missouri, police officer — performed a remix of his gospel-powered song “Kingdom,” from July’s Nobody’s Smiling, with Vince Staples and Jay Electronica. Their hands were up; the crowd fell, appropriately, silent.

As for the awards themselves, Drake and DJ Mustard took home some of the top honors at the event, hosted by Snoop Dogg. Drake, who led the nominations with eight, picked up four awards, specifically Album of the Year for 2013′s Nothing Was the Same, Best Hip-Hop Video and People’s Champ Award (both for “Worst Behavior”) and Best Live Performer. DJ Mustard nabbed DJ of the Year, MVP of the Year and Producer of the Year. Kendrick Lamar also scooped up two trophies, including Lyricist of the Year, while Nicki Minaj received the Made You Look Award and Iggy Azalea got the Who Blew Up Award.

Watch the “Kingdom” performance and Brown tribute below courtesy of Revolt, and scroll down for the full list of nominees and winners. Visit BET’s site to watch the awards’ annual cyphers, which play automatically and include verses from Kevin Gates, Vic Mensa, Lil Mama, David Banner, the Taylor Gang and Remy Ma, among others.

Album of the Year
Drake, Nothing Was the Same (winner)

Eminem, The Marshall Mathers LP 2
Future, Honest
Rick Ross, Mastermind
ScHoolboy Q, Oxymoron
Yo Gotti, I Am

I Am Hip Hop Award
Doug E. Fresh

Best Club Banger
Future feat. Pharrell, Pusha T & Casino, “Move That Doh” (winner)

K Camp feat. Lil Boosie, YG & Too $hort, “Cut Her Off” (Remix)
Migos, “Fight Night”
Wiz Khalifa, “We Dem Boyz”
YG feat. Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan, “My Hitta”
Young Thug, “Stoner”

Best Collab, Duo or Group 
YG feat. Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan, “My Hitta” (winner)
Eminem feat. Rihanna, “The Monster”
Future feat. Pharrell, Pusha T & Casino, “Move That Doh”
Jay Z feat. Justin Timberlake, “Holy Grail”
ScHoolboy Q feat. BJ The Chicago Kid, “Studio”
YG feat. Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan, “My Hitta”

Best Hip Hop Video 
Drake, “Worst Behavior” (winner)
Future, “Move That Dope”
Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX, “Fancy”
J. Cole feat. TLC, “Crooked Smile”
Wiz Khalifa, “We Dem Boyz”
Nicki Minaj, “Pills N Potions”

Best Live Performer
Drake (winner)

Jay Z
Kanye West
Kendrick Lamar

Best Mixtape 
Action Bronson, Blue Chips 2
Fabolous, The Soul Tape 3
Migos, No Label 2
Rich Homie Quan, I Promise I Will Never Stop Going In
Wiz Khalifa, 28 Grams (winner)

DJ of the Year
DJ Drama
DJ Envy
DJ Khaled
DJ Mustard (winner)
DJ Scream

Hustler of the Year 
Dr. Dre (winner)
Jay Z
Rick Ross

Impact Track
Common feat. Vince Staples, “Kingdom” (winner)
Lecrae, “Nuthin”
Lupe Fiasco, “Mission”
The Roots feat. Patty Cash, “Never”
Talib Kweli feat. Abby Dobson, “State of Grace”

Lyricist of the Year
J. Cole
Jay Z
Kendrick Lamar (winner)
Nicki Minaj

Made You Look Award
A$AP Rocky
Jay Z
Kanye West
Nicki Minaj (winner)
Young Thug

MVP of the Year 
DJ Mustard (winner)
Jay Z
Nicki Minaj

Producer of the Year
DJ Mustard (winner)
Drumma Boy
Mike WiLL Made It

Sweet 16: Best Feature Verse
B.o.B, “Paranoid”
B.o.B, “Up Down”
Drake, “Who Do You Love”
Kendrick Lamar, “Control” (winner)
Pharrell, “Move That Doh”

Track of the Year 
K Camp feat. Lil Boosie, YG & Too $hort, “Cut Her Off (Remix)”
Future feat. Pharrell, Pusha T & Casino, “Move That Doh”
YG feat. Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan, “My Hitta” (winner)
ScHoolboy Q feat. BJ The Chicago Kid, “Studio”
Drake, “Worst Behavior”

Video Director of the Year 
Benny Boom
Chris Robinson
Director X
Dre Films
Hype Williams (winner)

Who Blew Up Award 
Iggy Azalea (winner)
Rich Homie Quan
ScHoolboy Q
Young Thug

People’s Champ Award
Drake, “Worst Behavior” (winner)

Future feat. Pharrell, Pusha T & Casino, “Move That Doh”
Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX, “Fancy”
Wiz Khalifa, “We Dem Boyz”
YG feat. Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj, Meek Mill & Rich Homie Quan, “My Hitta”