Belle and Sebastian Release More Info About ‘Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance’

Lindsay Hood

By Lindsay Hood

on 10.14.14 in News

It’s an album over four years in the making. Last month, on the heels of God Help the Girl and a reissue series, Belle and Sebastian announced that they would be releasing their latest LP, Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance, on January 20.

They’ve been working with producer Ben Allen to help contribute to a new sound that, according to a press release, will include, “a dance-party element (and a disco song about Sylvia Plath) into their gorgeous tales of sensitive souls navigating a world gone awry.”

Today, we get to see the track listing and cover art. In addition, the album is also available for pre-order. The standard vinyl will be a double LP, but there is also a deluxe box set includes, “four discs with four bonus tracks, two album tracks replaced with extended mixes, plus a poster.”

Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance will be available on January 20, 2015 via Matador.

Check out the album’s cover art and track listing below. Tour information is there for you as well.


Track listing:

1. Nobody’s Empire
2. Allie
3. The Party Line
4. The Power of Three
5. The Cat with the Cream
6. Enter Sylvia Plath
7. The Everlasting Muse
8. Perfect Couples
9. Ever Had a Little Faith?
10. Play for Today
11. The Book of You
12. Today (This Army’s for Peace)

Tour Dates:

9/29 Orlando, FL – House of Blues
10/1 Atlanta, GA – Tabernacle
10/3 Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Festival
10/6-7 Los Angeles, CA – The Theater at the Ace Hotel
10/8 Phoenix, AZ – Civic Space Park
10/10 Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Festival
10/12 Mexico City, Mexico – Corona Capital Music Festival
10/28 Manchester, England – Cathedral
10/29 Bexhill-on-Sea, England – De La Warr Pavilion
10/31 Paris, France – Pitchfork Festival

2/16 Taipei, Taiwan – Hostess Club Taipei
5/22 Glasgow, Scotland – Hydro Arena (with the Scottish Festival Orchestra)
6/10 New York, NY – Radio City Music Hall
7/2-4 Keflavik, Iceland – ATP Iceland