Arto Lindsay Joins Twitter, Distills Solo Career on Double LP

Andrew Parks

By Andrew Parks

on 04.02.14 in News

No Wave pioneer Arto Lindsay has announced a new double LP exploring his solo recordings from the past decade and a live set recorded at Pete’s Candy Store in 2012. Due out May 20 through Northern Spy, Encyclopedia of Arto includes collaborations with Amedeo Pace (Blonde Redhead), Marisa Monte, Caetano Veloso, Andrés Levin, Melvin Gibbs and more, as well as covers of Prince, Al Green and the Brazilian music that’s long influenced the former DNA frontman. (While he’s best known for living in New York during its downtown era, Lindsay is based in Rio de Janeiro.)

Check out footage of Lindsay performing in Brooklyn below, and if you’re active on Twitter, you might want to follow the Lounge Lizards co-founder here.

'Encyclopedia of Arto' cover art

Arto Lindsay, Encyclopedia of Arto (Northern Spy, May 20):
Disc One:
1. 4 Skies
2. Simply Are
3. Illuminated
4. The Prize
5. Personagem
6. Child Prodigy
7. Ridiculously Deep
8. Complicity
9. Invoke
10. Reentry
11. Combustível
12. Ondina

Disc Two:
1. The Prize
2. Privacy
3. Pony
4. Erotic City
5. Invoke
6. Maneiras
7. O Mais Belo dos Belos
8. Garden Wall of Guitar
9. Illuminated
10. Simply Beautiful
11. Estação Derradeira
12. Wall of Guitar