Army Navy; Photo By Megan Mack

Army Navy Announce New Record; Share “The Mistakes”

J. Edward Keyes

By J. Edward Keyes

on 05.21.14 in News

The last time we heard from California power-poppers Army Navy, it was 2011, and frontman Justin Kennedy was using the groups second record, The Last Place, to work through the wreckage of a particularly traumatic romantic relationship with a celebrity that remains unnamed. The forthcoming The Wilderness Inside — out July 15 on The Fever Zone — doesn’t have that formidable backstory, but it still excels at marrying sparkling, guitar-driven power-pop with wounded lyrics. Case in point: Lead single “The Mistakes.” As the guitars bound and weave, Kennedy laments, “I’ll expose all my scars/ I’ll be blackened by char/ It’s a lover’s religion.”

“I guess it’s about longing for something that you know is destructive,” Kennedy explains. “I feel like everyone has been through that — you know it’s a bad idea, but you are drawn to it. And I got to use the word ‘behemoth’ in a song so that is fun.”

Listen to “The Mistakes” and scope the full tracklisting for the “behemoth”-featuring The Wilderness Inside below.

Army Navy, The Wilderness Inside
Out July 15, The Fever Zone

01. In Waves
02. The Mistakes
03. Crushed Like the Car
04. Waiting to Win
05. I’m Curious
06. Worlds End
07. Dumb Luck
08. Pacific
09. Spinning on the Record
10. Birdy