Hear Ariana Grande “Break Free,” Go EDM With Zedd

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 07.03.14 in News

Freedom! As these United States get ready for fireworks and flags, Ariana Grande has shared her second contender in the music media’s ever-intensifying battle for the Song of the Summer. We haven’t written about the weirdly demon-haunted ex-Nickelodeon star much here at Wondering Sound, but I have to agree with contributor Jordan Sargent when he called her debut Yours Truly “arguably 2013′s best pop album.” The 21-year-old with the a-hero-lies-in-Mariah-Carey pipes has already conquered the Clear Channel-owned FM station in your town via “Problem,” a good-riddance breakup ditty that’s instantly appealing despite its “Wut”-via-”Thrift Shop” horn burps and guest rapper Iggy Azalea’s execrable T.I. impressions. Now, Grande has premiered “Break Free,” another song from her upcoming sophomore album, My Everything (get the track gratis when you pre-order the full-length on iTunes), and as Zedd‘s name in the “featuring” line should tell you, this is the part where Grande rolls to the dance tent. “Break Free” is another carefree kiss-off to an old beau: “I’m stronger than I’ve been before,” she asserts amid maximalist electronic swells and crescendos. It’s a declaration of independence. It’s a declaration of EDM-pendence. It’s what she’ll perform at the MTV Video Music Awards on August 24 (that time of year again already!). Is it the Song of the Summer? Oh, Grande will survive.

Ariana Grande, My Everything (Republic, August 25)

1. Intro
2. Problem (featuring Iggy Azalea)
3. One Last Time
4. Why Try
5. Break Free (featuring Zedd)
6. Best Mistake (featuring Big Sean)
7. Be My Baby (featuring Cashmere Cat)
8. Break Your Heart Right Back (featuring Childish Gambino)
9. Love Me Harder (featuring the Weeknd)
10. A Little Bit Of Your Heart
11. Hands On Me (featuring A$AP Ferg)
12. My Everything