Anjou Reunites Two-Thirds of Labradford, Album on the Way

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 07.22.14 in News

Labradford‘s 1993 Prazision LP was the first album ever released on Kranky, but the post-rock heavyweights haven’t released an album together since 2001′s fixed::context. They’ve continued with their own projects, and last year, Labradford bassist Robert Donne appeared as a guest on a few tracks from guitarist/singer Mark Nelson’s latest album as Pan AmericanCloud Room, Glass Room. That record also featured percussionist Steven Hess, who has played with the formidable likes of Chicago doom-metal droners Locrian and Austrian ambient explorer Fennesz.

Now, Donne and Nelson have unveiled their first full-fledged collaboration since fixed::context. New venture Anjou brings together Donne, Nelson and Hess, and on September 15, Kranky will release the group’s self-titled debut album on vinyl and CD. Anjou, which took four years of writing and editing, mixes modular synthesis and Max/MSP programming along with live guitar, bass and percussion.

Labradford never officially broke up, for what it’s worth. Over the past decade, Donne has also played with the groups Cristal and Spokane. Check out Anjou‘s complete cover art and track listing below, and listen to the first, ethereal advance track, “Sighting,” over at FACT.

Discover: Kranky

Anjou cover art

Anjou, Anjou (September 15; Kranky)

1. Lamptest
2. Sighting
3. Specimen Question
4. Readings
5. Inclosed
6. Adjustment
7. Backsight
8. Fieldwork