Album Premiere: Denver’s Lonesome ‘Rowdy Love’

Wondering Sound Staff

By Wondering Sound Staff

on 07.10.14 in News

Denver’s debut LP Rowdy Love is rarely as rambunctious as its title suggests; instead it’s largely made up of woeful country songs (see: “Lonely, Lonesome & Alone,” “A Way Out” and “Bound to Lose”). But misery is in good company here, as the band has three (!) songwriters, who take turns commiserating about finding a way out.

Rowdy Love lands somewhere in between icons like Townes Van Zandt and Hank Williams, and modern favorites like Wilco and Blitzen Trapper (whose frontman Eric Earley produced the LP). Birger Olsen, Mike Elias and Tom Bevitori’s voices are distinct, but they flow together naturally; highlights include the soulful “A Way Out,” the devastating “Prison Song” and the Band-channeling “Carry On.”

Rowdy Love is out July 15, but you can preorder it here and stream it in full below.