Alabama Shakes Come Back Swinging for ‘Sound & Color’

Marc Hogan

By Marc Hogan

Lead News Writer
on 02.10.15 in News

Alabama Shakes‘ new song is called “Don’t Wanna Fight,” but the big-voiced Southern rockers haven’t lost their punch. Sound & Color, their follow-up to 2012′s Boys & Girls, is due out in the United States on April 21 via ATO, and the first taste is a muscular call for reconciliation, with percussive murk and high-pitched hooks that recall Arctic Monkeys’ after-partying 2013 album AM. Brittany Howard and her fellow Shakes recorded the new LP in Nashville with co-producer Blake Mills, a long-time Fiona Apple collaborator and accomplished session guitarist.

Alabama Shakes, 'Sound & Color'

Sound & Color (April 21, ATO)

1. Sound & Color
2. Don’t Wanna Fight
3. Dunes
4. Future People
5. Gimme All Your Love
6. This Feeling
7. Guess Who
8. The Greatest
9. Shoegaze
10. Miss You
11. Gemini
12. Over My Head